We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was what I wanted and expected”
Review of Homeleigh Hotel

Homeleigh Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homeleigh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It was what I wanted and expected”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I wanted a single night's accommodation and no breakfast. The owner was perfectly friendly if a little brusque in manner, which is perhaps what some people here have not liked. I had no problem. My late-booked single room was spacious with a nice double bed with clean crisp sheets and three decent pillows. The en-suite was also large and all worked as expected as did the flat-screen, wall-mounted tv. . Although the room faced the main road, this was not very busy and the noise not intrusive. A perfectly satisfactory overnight stop for £35. Only slight irritation was that the card machine failed to work - so I paid cash. No problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    8
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
18
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Booked into Homeleigh Hotel for a brief pre-Christmas visit to family. I also found this to be good value for money.

The owner was not in any way unfriendly and very helpful both when we made the initial reservation and in offering directions once we'd found Bradford Road. If you are using a 'sat nav' I'd suggest you enter Springhurst Road (rather than the Bradford Road address), the first right turn from Springhurst Road leads to Homeleigh Hotel's parking spaces.

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and a good breakfast to start the day, can't really ask for much else

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the busy (heavy traffic) Bradford Road. The rear rooms were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

the owner was a bad mannered nosy individual. old decor hard bed and a poke of a bar, the place is just a glorified b+b. the location was ok but the car park was just a few spaces down an alley.the breakfast was ok .

Room Tip: no room is a good room in this hovel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shipley hotels

Devon uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booking a single room for £32 at the last minute is one thing... arriving to hear the owner advising you not to expect a palace as you check in is quite another.... so a nervous walk up the narrow staircase to the second floor ensued....

Well... A recently, but cheaply decorated room - woodchip paper and emulsion.... so what? The bed looked crisp and clean, and proved to be so, and moreover was quite comfortable.

The plumbing all worked fine, the bathroom was clean and functional, and two large crisp towels for a single room was great. The shower etc was of an ordinary domestic type, rather than a commercial hotel variety, but worked fine, and I enjoyed a good hot shower.

So what was missing? Well... no kettle etc, but that's not a total hardship: I opened the top drawer of the bedside cabinet to find that there was no Gideons Bible, but instead I had the pleasure of a copy of the Sun that someone had left in there bearing a headline about who some sex change character from Big Brother had bedded, which made a pleasant change from the usual bland hardback volume I suppose.

Great to have on site and off road parking. Also useful, there are a couple of takeaways (The sexiest looking fish frier I have ever seen) a few yards up the road, and a 24 hour Asda within 300 yards for anything else (This chump had forgotten his sponge bag, so was able to rectify that easily)

It is on a main road, and there was some noise of large lorries through the night, even though the room I was in was at the back of the hotel - no problem for me as in a comfortable warm bed like that I drop straight off again after being disturbed, but the lighter sleepers probably wake up with a grotty head on!

Kevin is right - don't expect a palace, but don't expect the worst either.... This is good value for money no frills accommodation if all you want is somewhere for the 4 S's (Shower Sleep Shave & S***) Probably not a place to spend endless hours at, but a great overnight stop that I shall add to my list should I need somewhere on the north side of Bradford again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Basic, but very clean and comfortable, and exceptional value for money. Kevin the manager looks after you well even if he does come across as a bit dour on first impressions. Much better value than any of the chain hotels in Bradford and in an rug ably nicer location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to homeleigh "hotel", only to find a musty hovel of a place. It is befitting of the 1970s TV series "Rising Damp". awful decor, ratty sheets, and a musty smell that can only be the result of years of low-rent characters passing wind, passing urine, and passing out. The owner makes Basil Fawlty seem like Rocco Forte; an awful, abrupt person who should not be allowed to deal with the general public. ~ Terrible bathrooms, small, and such a tight shower-closet. this place has no real right to call itself 'Hotel', but then, artifice is the hallmark of this dowdy establishment. the pipes are old, and rattle, every time osme one else goes to the shared bathroom on the first floor. If you like a bad night's sleep, on hard granite mattresses, do, by all means, stay at this place.

Room Tip: Bring fly-spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
660Kevin, Owner at Homeleigh Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I think people who read this review will make their own mind up about its content, as it makes no sense !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Large well decorated and furnished room with a nice large double bed. En suite facilities very clean and good shower. Tea and Coffee making facilities and biscuits provided with good bed linen. Friendly welcome from the owner and a very well cooked english breakfast with wholemeal toast and coffee after cereal.
Very good value and close to the Shipley town centre. On the main road but surprisingly little traffic noise. Nice residents lounge.

Room Tip: Sunny at the back in the vening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
865 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Cartwright Hotel
The Cartwright Hotel
#19 of 27 in Bradford
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
465 reviews
2.7 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeleigh Hotel

Property: Homeleigh Hotel
Address: 72-76 Bradford Road, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homeleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Homeleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeleigh Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing