We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper french!”

The Terrace Cafe Bar
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Proper french!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you've read any of my other reviews you'll know that I love genuine French restaurants - The Terrace certainly fits the bill. On the positive side, the food is genuine French without pretentions or obscure menu terms to confuse the non-French speaker. Some nice twists as well - I thoroughly enjoyed the Salade Nicoise made with smoked salmon steaks rather than tuna - very good, and very generous portions. The boss had mussels and chips - not entirely sure that British steak-cut chips (not exactly crispy either) actually work as part of 'moules frites' - the mussels and sauce were excellent though! All washed down with a very nice bottle of white burgundy, which, as the most expensive white wine on the wine list at £18.95 was very acceptable. Sweets were also very edible - the boss had the peach melba, judging by the silence it went down very well; my crêpe fourée was less so - it is a bit disappointing that the crêpes were evidenty pre-prepared (wouldn't like to comment whether they were pre-prepared in-house or from a packet) - making a sweet pancake mix is not rocket science and I think this particular menu item needs making fresh or taking off the menu as it lets the place down a bit. So - generally happy with the food, loved the ambience (would prefer more Brassens, Brel or Duteil and less Piaf and accordian music - but that's just me) and banter with Toni who fronts the place really well.

In summary then, its not perfect, but its very close and I won't hesitate to vist again - in fact we are both looking forward to it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdleBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    100
    29
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outside Catering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last Friday evening we hosted a masquerade Ball in the heart of Saltaire to raise funds for a group of students from Beckfoot School who are in July 2014 going on an expedition to Tibetan China.
This is the third event of this kind that we have organised and Eric Poli of the Terrace, Saltaire has catered for every one of them. The food, every time was top notch, of very high quality and very tasty. In the past he has catered for approx. 100 people at a sitting, and last weekend for just over 60. We received many compliments on the food and would like to take this opportunity to thank Eric and his staff for helping to make the evening such a great success!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ace Breakfast, I'll Be Back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a breakfast here...wow set me up for the whole day. Go for the continental....croissant, toast, ham, cold meats, salad, jam.....need I go on. Top quality with a coffee thrown in. Will certainly be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Restaurant and Caterer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Charming restaurant with exellent food and a very reasonable price. The portions are of a high quality as well as quantity.
We used The Terrace as the caterer for our wedding at Victoria Hall and we got great feed back from the wedding guests about how much they loved the food.
Eric, the owner and head chef, was very helpful and open to compromise. We had the meal we really wanted on our wedding day and the service staff were excellent.
Highly Recommended for both dining in the restaurant and as an external caterer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been here a number of times now but never got round to writing a review! Visited again this week and as ever was delighted with the food and service.

The menu is quite small, but is regularly changed so you don't get stuck in the old rut of ordering what you had last time because you know you like it ( which I am so guilty at a lot of places I go to regularly ).

This time the absolute highlight for me has to be the chocolate torte, however the entire meal was beautiful.

Very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrycharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Saltaire, West Yorkshire
Shipley, Bradford
 

Been to The Terrace Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing