We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxing visit”
Review of Vicars Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

Vicars Cafe Bistro
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Vicars for lunch and a chat after reading the excellent reviews on here and we weren't disappointed. The cafe provides a friendly,cosy, relaxed, bright place for lunch or simply a coffee and cake. We were greeted immediately and offered a table. The seating is unusual with two "refectory" tables and two or three smaller tables all restored with original (church?) chairs. Simple but characterful. With time to browse the menu we were spoilt for choice by the enticing array of sandwich choices all on lovely fresh brown or white hand cut bread or olive bread. We chose the latter. One with cajun chicken and mozzarella filling and the second roasted mediterranean vegetables and mozzarella.Each came with coleslaw and a small dressed side salad. We decided to share and they were both delicious. Two good quality coffees arrived promptly. We stayed for quite a while catching up on family news and enjoyed a second coffee but we were not rushed or pestered at any point. Vicars Cafe Bistro certainly fulfils it's ambition to be a non profit making community cafe where folks can come together, relax and enjoy their time whilst enjoying good food.All in a very professional environment. The staff should be very proud of their achievements.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acuarioangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirkly, relaxed evening.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A lovely evening, the highlight of which was the coq au vin, closely followed by the ham hock starter. The brisket was a little dry, which was unfortunate, but didn't detract from an enjoyable meal. The staff were friendly and attentive. Overall, I particularly enjoyed the relaxed and quiet ambience of the restaurant - especially on a Saturday night, when you would normally expect quite the opposite. The menu was refreshingly simple and worked well. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hsstjra73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice place - slow service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We called in here during the saltaire festival just for coffee and cakes. The bistro is pleasant with a friendly atmosphere. We had a nice greeting and were seated immediately. The staff were very prompt in taking our order but unfortunaely we had to wait over 30 minutes for our drinks and cake to be brought to us. As we were having a leisurely afternoon it didnt pose a problem but did notice people who had ordered food who arrived after us were served their food before us. However, nice cake, nice coffees, not cheap but not overly expensive and would return to try their meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little spot”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Charming gem of a restaurant during Friday and Saturday evenings and a great cafe during the day.

The food when we went on Friday evening was very good and reasonably priced as was the wine. Service was attentive and the staff were very pleasant as always.
It has a great setting in the middle of the world heritage site and is decorated in a simple but cosy manner.
Will no doubt go again both for a quick coffee and an enjoyable evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to relax and enjoy good food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

just been to vicars cafe/bistro for an evening meal. there is a lot of choice around the saltaire area but this informal bistro (only open in the evening on fridays +saturdays) is by far the best for value and lovely food. great atmosphere + service too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicars Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing