We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place - slow service”
Review of Vicars Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

Vicars Cafe Bistro
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice place - slow service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We called in here during the saltaire festival just for coffee and cakes. The bistro is pleasant with a friendly atmosphere. We had a nice greeting and were seated immediately. The staff were very prompt in taking our order but unfortunaely we had to wait over 30 minutes for our drinks and cake to be brought to us. As we were having a leisurely afternoon it didnt pose a problem but did notice people who had ordered food who arrived after us were served their food before us. However, nice cake, nice coffees, not cheap but not overly expensive and would return to try their meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little spot”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Charming gem of a restaurant during Friday and Saturday evenings and a great cafe during the day.

The food when we went on Friday evening was very good and reasonably priced as was the wine. Service was attentive and the staff were very pleasant as always.
It has a great setting in the middle of the world heritage site and is decorated in a simple but cosy manner.
Will no doubt go again both for a quick coffee and an enjoyable evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to relax and enjoy good food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

just been to vicars cafe/bistro for an evening meal. there is a lot of choice around the saltaire area but this informal bistro (only open in the evening on fridays +saturdays) is by far the best for value and lovely food. great atmosphere + service too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very friendly staff, food came quickly and the salads are lovely.
Good location and close to the train station.
Will visit again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pazzington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Evening!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I had notices that Vicars was now serving a Bistro menu on Fri & Sat evenings and have been meaning to try it out. This weekend we managed it!

The style is, well, rustic! Bare wooden board cottage kitchen style tables and chapel chairs but it has a certain charm about it!

I popped in on Sat morning to book a table and did so for 8pm. I was a little concerned that we were the only entry in the bookings diary and that we would be dining alone, but when we arrived there were several other tables occupied!

The evening menu is somewhat restricted but varied - unfortunately this was not helped by the fact that one of the starters was not available but such things happen in the best of places!

For a starter my wife had the goats cheese tart and I have the fried potato and chorizo in tomato sauce - both of which were excellent. The 'catch of the day' was fish pie which, according to my wife, was fine, but nothing special. I chose the slow cooked brisket which was, again, excellent. Both portions were generous and a side order of potatoes and fresh veg was served.

The desserts were, again, generous and very tasty. As we were now the only diners we decided to skip coffee - not that we were made to feel that we should, on the contrary, the service from the tow young ladies was attentive and charming.

The bill, including a beer and a soft drink came to just over £40, which I thought was excellent value for money.

We shall certainly return and recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicars Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing