We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find”

Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Massarella's has established itself as one of the finest Cafe Bars in the area offering high quality soups, paninis, sandwiches, fine wines and local bottled beers, as well as serving superb coffee by Barista-trained coffee makers.Situated on Saltaire's main thoroughfare at 14 Victoria Road, we are equally well known for our Art Gallery which showcases some of the best local artists in the area.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a find”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a nice day looking around Salts Mill we stopped in at Massarella's for a coffee and where told sorry we don't do just drinks at lunch time. Well than was lucky for us or otherwise we would not have sampled the delights of what home made food tasted like, Mushroom soup and the best carrot cake the world has ever known toped of with excellent coffee. The fact that the price was very reasonable means we will go back for a proper lunch so watch this space.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingbatt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    64
    20
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“could be nice”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I specifically looked with interest to see what the reviews were like on Trip Advisor for this cafe in Saltaire as it made such an impression on us and stayed in our memories for all the wrong reasons. Our visit was marred by the overbearing, loud-voiced and gossipy owner who gave us a bit of a grilling and didn't come across as friendly but rather "school marmish" and disapproving. Coffee and cakes are absolutely fine but who wants to eat in that sort of atmosphere? Having seen her unapologetic denials and confrontational responses to other diners comments I can see that there is little chance she will moderate her front of house style. Also note : continually producing the figure that 50 or 60 people said your cafe was great means absolutely nothing to the quite considerable percentage of people whose visit was ruined by the cafe owners behaviour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BadgerInBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Over-priced mediocre coffee and not at all welcoming”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a pleasant walk around the area we called into this establishment this afternoon for a drink.
First impressions count - we were approached by the owner only after she had finished her conversation with another person. We ordered 2 coffees and were asked if we wanted 1 or 2 shots of coffee. This immediately rang alarm bells that the coffee must be weak, if they have to ask you, and I do object to having to pay more for what was only an average coffee.
The overall impression was that because we were only having drinks and no food we were seen as 2nd class citizens.
The bill came to £4.30 for an Americano and a Cappuccino - totally overpriced when you can have the same drinks at a Costa for 20 pence less.
We will not be back - if they display the Trip Advisor badge I expect much more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we visited Massrella's for the first time we thought it was just another café, how wrong we were. the food is all 'home made', and absolutely delicious. The service was excellent, the owner took the time to ensure we all had everything we needed, including sharing with us some recipes for her divine soups. Would and have recommended them to everyone. Thanks Masserellsa's and see you soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KalinAnna013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tea and panini”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We called in mid afternoon for a snack to tide us over and had a pot of tea for two and shared a cheese and caramelised onion panini which as delicious and the cheese was tasty, which meant calories well spent. The cakes, especially the huge Victoria sponge looked amazing but on this visit we chose to be good. The owner was very chatty, clearly interested in what her customers wanted even though majority would, like us, be tourists and unlikely ever to be regulars!!! However, it's on our list of places to return to next time we are in Yorkshire.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art also viewed

 
Saltaire, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Massarella's Cafe Bar & Fine Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing