We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fish pie”
Review of The Old Glen House

The Old Glen House
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Shipley
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Old Glen House is a welcoming country pub situated on the idyllic Baildon Moor only minutes from the Shipley glen tramway, serving a range of cask beers, wines and home cooked food. With the wood-burning stove roaring away in the winter and the vast beer garden open on the summer days it is the perfect venue all year around. Whether you call in after a walk (with or without a dog), a cycle ride or as a diner or drinker you can always be assured of a warm welcome.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous fish pie”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Walked up from Saltaire beside the tramway, which would be lovely in the summer, not quite the same on a freezing cold April Tuesday evening!.Lovely views from the pub/restaurant, nice quiet location, also nice quiet restaurant. Excellent choice of local ales, though 2 of the 5 listed were still settling. Clientele seemed to be predominantly dog walkers, but any lack in atmosphere was more than made up by the service and quality of food. Our party of three had Chicken stuffed with chorizo, Fish Pie and 'Posh Ploughmans'. No issue with ordering a starter (ploughmans) as a main and were offered the option of a main-size portion even though not on menu. All three were immaculately presented in Masterchef style, and were equally tasty. My wife declared the fish pie as the best she had ever had, which is impressive as it's her favourite meal.
Didn't stay particularly long because of the trip back, but despite being quiet the restaurant was warm and welcoming and we could have quite happily lingered longer. The ale I had was Arctic Fox, from the Slightly Foxed Brewing Company. fairly light refreshing bitter from a local microbrewery. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    55
    21
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Pub, Great Food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to this pub/restaurant last week for lunch and we were very impressed. It has been re-decorated since i had last been a few years ago and now has an improved seating and eating area for walkers with dogs. The restaurant area is smart and warming with a log fire and comfy chairs, suitable for large parties as well as smaller groups. Despite being busy for a lunchtime the service was excellent with extremely friendly and attentive staff. We both chose a steak sandwich with home-made chips and it was cooked to perfection and not too heavy for a lunchtime meal. I then chose the Jam Roly Poly for dessert which was superb. Overall i had a really enjoyably meal and would definitely recommend a visit!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonkersleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lacks Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This lovely English pub/restaurant is devoid of a friendly face. It is located at the edge of the open Moors and it's history as a old tavern should be inviting. But there's a coldness that wouldn't encourage you to enjoy the place and certainly not make a return visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Friday Evening Meal”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at th near by Hollins Hall Hotel and decided to eat here rather than the hotel due to the great reviews of this place on here!

The setting is lovely and you are greated with a warm reception when entering the pub/resturant.

They was surprisingly very quite being Good Friday! We was the only people in the resturant! But we didnt mind this :)

We ordered muscles & fish cakes to start, both were very tasty, then we both had the steak for main. It was ok, for the price i did expect it to be better than it was :-/

After dinner we went into the bar to finish our bottle of wine, nice and cosy with an open fire!

If you're in the area then maybe try it, but for the money you could probs get better!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeLouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DELIGHTFUL!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I cannot praise this great little restaurant/pub enough. Set against the beautiful greenery of the glen,The Old Glen House never fails to deliver. Whether it be their beautiful, tender lamb (on the Sunday lunch menu) or their wide range of desserts, everything is cooked with care, tasting absolutely wonderful with perfect presentation to match.
I have been quite a few times now and I can gladly say that I would not be able to pick a single fault.

Attentive, friendly staff, speedy service and appropriate prices.

I strongly recommend The Old Glen House. SUPERB EXPERIENCE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 888LL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Glen House also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Glen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing