We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time Happy”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just enjoyed a third stay at Abbey Lodge and would like to voice great satisfaction for the quality of amentities, affability of the staff and the cleanliness of the whole hotel. It is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeUK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 810 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a lovely family run hotel.. all staff very helpful and enjoyed a evening drink in the bar with Chris.. Bedrooms very tastefully decorated and lovely comfy bed, no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends we will be back, thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cavvie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a lot of looking around we decided on Abbey Lodge Hotel, this was based on other reviews we had read. On arrival our room was not ready but we expected that as we got there really early. We were able to get parked in the hotel car park and Chris on the desk gave us directions to where we wanted to be. On our return he showed us to our lovely room and explained how things worked and the breakfast times. We had a superior room and it had a spa bath...just what we needed after all the walking. We had a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and were able to adjust the room temp to suit. The following morning we had a lovely freshly cooked breakfast and plenty of coffee and toast. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The room overlooking church and car park had a spa bath good for relaxing after a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I, together with our dog Roxy, stayed here 1 night to visit Saltaire Village, Bingley 5 Rise Locks and Shipley Glen. We received a lovely email from the hotel right after we booked it via booking.com, which made us feel the hotel really cares about its customers. The hotel is ideally situated, close to Shipley itself, and a 5 minute drive from Saltaire. The gentleman who greeted us at reception was very pleasant and chatty. Chris kindly showed us to our room and was also very helpful telling us about dog-friendly pubs nearby. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the top floor and we had a very pleasant view of the church across the road. The room itself, although small, was perfectly formed. The bed was extremely comfy, there is a kettle and tea/biscuits etc and further supplies freely available from Reception. There is also a DVD player and flat screen TV. The bathroom is very modern and the whole room spotlessly clean. The only toiletries supplied are shower gel (3 of) but luckily they also worked as a shampoo as I'd forgotten mine! The only minor niggle was the amount of noise that you can hear on the landing and stairs, with people not being particularly considerate when arriving back late. Not the hotel's fault, but it did wake me up a couple of times. The breakfast was excellent. Cooked fresh to order, with a veggie option, plus cereals, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice, toast and jam/marmalade with as much tea or coffee as you wanted to help yourself to. The staff were very efficient and pleasantly helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely return. For the price we paid, £65 plus £5 for our dog seemed more than fair.

Room Tip: High floor (although there are no lifts) with a front aspect is probably your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my third visit to Abbey Lodge and it is always a good experience. I was here for the Jewel of Yorkshire belly dance festival in Saltaire. Its very handy for Victoria Hall and is only about 10 minutes easy walk to the Hall. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. My room was nice and at the front of the lodge. Bed was so comfy, shower is good, and room spotlessly clean. Room prices are good value for money. Breakfast was good and served by very pleasant waitresses. Was a shame I didn't know about evening meals now being served at the weekends as I am sure that if more of the belly dancers knew about this then they would have eaten here. I would highly recommend the Abbey Lodge to anyone wanting a nice friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here with 5 other girls for a book club weekend & we were visiting Ilkley for the Literature Festival. We arrived at 10.45 & went in just to let them know we had arrived. The man on reception was very friendly & welcoming & said that our rooms were ready so we could put our bags in. We had 3 twin rooms. My room was right at the top at the back of the hotel. Reminded me of Premier Inn because of the colours - crisp white bed linen & purple. The room looked freshly painted in white & soft grey. It was spotlessly clean! The power shower was great & the beds were comfy. I didn't expect the breakfast to be as good as it was for the price we were paying - there was fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt, tea, coffee, a full English & toast. All the staff were so friendly & helpful. This hotel is excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a truly mad and lovely bunch they are. Caring, warm and generous. Homemade food, tasty, excellently portioned and lovely service, always happy to go the extra mile. We will absolutely return. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardrossiter1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
891 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing