We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Great Service”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As many others have stated this is an excellent hotel and great value for money especially in this area. Our room was large, clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with a lovely walk in power shower. The breakfast was fabulous with all you could ask for. The staff were all extemely friendly and most helpful. The car park is at the back of the hotel on a first come first served basis and can fill up quite quickly, however, there is street parking at the front of the hotel and we had no problem parking there. There is no lif,t so if stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor room.
I only have one small gripe, which is although this is a completely non smoking hotel, guests smoke outside with the doors open and the smoke drifts through to the breakfast0 dining room, which is not pleasant when eating.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter away from the main road, also ask for grounfd floor if stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 810 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September 2013. The hotel was immaculately presented, and the staff were incredibly pleasant and efficient. The rooms were large and spacious (we stayed in the most basic room too - I imagine the superior rooms were even bigger), and the whole place had clearly been renovated very recently. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the TV had a great range of channels on offer. The only downside was that we were in a top-floor room, and the sloped ceiling presented a slight problem for me as I am quite a large (6'5") gentleman. My slightly smaller companion (5'6") had no issue though, and could access the whole room fine.

The bathroom was also quite big, and the décor was very modern and well-designed. We did have an odd issue during the night where there was no cold water (both taps ran hot), although this had resolved itself by morning so we didn't need to report anything.

The room rate includes breakfast as standard, and the quality is outstanding (I've paid upwards of £20/person for worse food than this). The hot food is cooked to order, and other breakfast items (cereal, fruit etc) is in a buffet-style layout. The coffee and tea is self-serve, and there is a great range of choice.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, and I will definitely be returning the next time I am in the city.

Room Tip: If you are of, ahem, advanced stature like me (6'5"), ask for a lower-floor room, as the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameronD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just had to report on this hotel. I booked a twin room which cost me £65.00 for a Saturday night stay. I though it was quite expensive for what i'm used to paying but i realised firstly when i walked in my room what good value this hotel is. Very smart, clean room, First time in a hotel that i have slept on a comfy bed. Glanced in the kitchen and it was spotless. In fact everything was spotless. I had a specific reason to stay there this weekend but i wont need a reason next time other than for a pleasant break. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Single night spent at this hotel . Booked as needed to be close to a function we were attending . Difficult allocating stars - 4stars here reflect value for money . Excellent value for wife and I in good sized room - breakfast included . Has clearly been recently refurbished and room was very tidy and shower etc recently installed . Room has tea/coffee making facilities , flat screen TV and free WiFi ( which worked well) . This was a difficult hotel to find and We seemed to battle with satnav and one way systems . Couple who arrived prior to us had same problem . Parking is at rear of hotel so spaces are limited - so if you can get in early . If full looks to be difficult finding a convenient alternative . Hotel has small bar area , which we did not use but was popular . Snacks also available I understand on a night . The cooked breakfast included in the room rate was good and serving staff friendly - as were all the staff . Would recommend if like us you need a short stay in a comfortable setting .

was good

Room Tip: We booked a superior room which gives a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A 3 day stay which was a delight.
I hadn't expected too much at such a modest rate but from arrival to departure it was excellent.
Lovely,friendly kitchen staff brightened our mornings with local bacon,eggs and mushrooms.
The room was large.well furnished and clean with quality bedding.
I didn't know they allowed dogs until I read other reviews today and I am now home.

I spend a lot of time touring and there are many big name operators who could do with a training weekend for their staff and executives at this hotel.

Great value for money and deserve more success.
Thanks to all
Jim and Ann Mulholland

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cisco555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and the staff were pleasant, helpful and keen. Rooms area little on the small side but decorated modernly. Breakfast was okay. The reception/lounge area is not too large but serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short stay and is great value for money. So, the parking was a little bit confusing - but the hotel and, in particular, the staff were outstanding. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone we spoke to. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms very well equipped and the check in / check out process very smooth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
891 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range: $66 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing