We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can recommend.”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and the staff were pleasant, helpful and keen. Rooms area little on the small side but decorated modernly. Breakfast was okay. The reception/lounge area is not too large but serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 830 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short stay and is great value for money. So, the parking was a little bit confusing - but the hotel and, in particular, the staff were outstanding. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone we spoke to. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms very well equipped and the check in / check out process very smooth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we stayed here for a few day's and found the hotel a delight. the room's were well done and comfortable. The surrounding area has plenty to do and saltaire is a must see. we had an evening meal whilst staying and Steve the chef was great and looked after us. (the curry is a must try) the bar area is comfortable and 2 big screen tv's with sport on. :) overall a great stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boopse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here as a base to visit Saltaire, just up the road. Happy with our choice. A very clean and comfortable hotel, excellent bedroom and an exceptional bathroom, complete with jacuzzi bath
Friendly, helpful staff and a good breakfast too, although we had to wait to get seated as it was very busy

Recommended , and very good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my friend visited this hotel on 25/08/2013 for one night stay. I would say most of the staff were friendly and polite. there were many rooms in the hotel which i had viewed on line but the room i was offered was quite small and stuffy/warm at night, although the room was clean and tidy. i was not happy with the noise early in the morning of the vacuum cleaner was used by the cleaners in the corridors which was irritating for some like me who wanted to lay in. . For the price i paid i would say it was OK, I would recommend this hotel to friends but would strongly advice them to view the hotel online before booking.

Room Tip: rooms in the basement are cooler when its warm at night. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited in May 2013. Very friendly and welcoming staff and management. The room was fine. Not quite as nice as the photo indicated but serviceable. Food was great. Really good breakfast.
Already recommended it to family members who might make a similar trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaghms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived an instantly had a concern over the area looking at the street behind on which the car parking is directly off - nearly refused room and what a mistake that would have been.
Very friendly helpful staff clean attractive room which although in the basement did not feel to be claustrophobic at all and in hot weather was pleasantly cool.
Breakfast good and great value for money - if we are back in the area absolutely no qualms in staying again or recommending to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wineorbeerpleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
924 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
775 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range: $81 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing