We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What You Would Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not What You Would Expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the outside it looks a very nice hotel. The rooms are fairly nice, well decorated and comfortable.

The Abbey Lodge website describes itself - "The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer" It was full of builders staying there, which when they are in the bar together, makes you feel uncomfortable. A stylish, chic and modern hotel isn't the sort of place where you would expect builders. Not that I have anything against them. Enjoy your breakfast, it is very nice, but you eat it in the bar which appears to go against everything in the description. Staff are relatively friendly and I had to park my car on the owners sons drive opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    191
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
152
326
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff, no-one could do enough for us. Our room was warm and comfortable and we had a kingsize bed and whirlpool bath, which was an unexpected treat. Breakfast was delicious, service excellent and all tastes catered for. We would happily go back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel, stayed for a short business trip with 3 other guests, friendly reception staff and a nice welcome from Ashley. Rooms extremely comfortable, large TV, very clean and warm. Facilities in the room were all excellent. Private Car park at rear. Good location with a number of Restaurants close by, we had a great meal at Yo Yo's. Would definitely stay again when in the area and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youlgrave, Derbys
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Simply but comfortably furnished, clean and spacious room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of places to eat nearby even though the hotel doesn't serve evening meals at the weekend. Lovely to walk along the canal and in Roberts' Park as well as going to Salt's Mill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Warm, very friendly with extremely comfortable rooms of an extremely high standard.
I use it regularly and will continue to do so when visiting Bradford.
The location is excellent with Saltaire and the David Hockney Gallery adjacent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I decided to take my wife away to Howarth for the weekend and found this hotel not far away in Shipley after some pretty good reviews. I don't know if they stayed at the hotel or just drove past, because the revews do not reflect the hotel at all. They do not serve foods on a weekend so after a long day in Howarth we then had to find somewhere to eat.. get a taxi to and from the resteraunt all adding to the cost of the stay. One bright point is the staff who helped us to sort out a decent place to eat. The colour sceme of the hotel reminds me of some seedy backstreet massage parlour. (purple and black). the room was very clean and comfortable, but due to the lack of a snack or resteraunt but i have to say the breakfast was exellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

had 2 nights over the new year last year. it was great they cant do enough for you .they even asked if my son and his wife wanted to come for breakfast .they were only dropping us of .the rooms are modern and clean and the breakfasts are very good.we will be returning every time we fly out of l@bor if we visit freinds in yorkshire .well done on the award you deserve it .thank you once again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing