We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay before your canal boat adventure (or anytime)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good place to stay before your canal boat adventure (or anytime)”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We hired a canal boat from Silsden Boats. I did a fair amount of research trying to find accommodation for the day prior to picking up the boat. When I came across the Abbey Lodge Hotel I was blown away.

The prices, the responses to my emails and the location, seemed to tell us all that this was our best bet. Okay, all the positive reports on Tripadvisor did help (I’d click on all [but 2] of them for ‘helpful votes’, except I’d be doing this for hours).

We were greeted by a member of staff, almost as soon as our taxi pulled up. Once inside, we were made to feel right at home. This was particularly true, when they found that my wife’s father was literally, from just around the corner. As we had three rooms booked, it took time for each of us to be shown to all our digs. This was no problem as the final two travellers obtained plenty of local tips, while waiting (i.e. pubs for pints, shops for groceries, etc.).

Abbey Lodge is a relatively small hotel, built from 2 large properties. The rooms are located in and around many nooks and crannies, making it easy to get lost. Pay attention on how you got to your room (and your room number) or you may need help getting back to it. Well, you probably will need help anyway.

Two of our crew had nice single rooms. Perfectly equipped with everything that you could possibly need (if I am wrong, just ask and you will get it). We had a double room. It had a two person jetted tub in the bathroom. The main room was huge, we had six crewmembers and guests come down for drinks and it was still comfortable. The bed was great, WiFi worked well, and the tele was super. We knew that during the next seven nights, on board Helen’s Drum, the accommodations were going to be tight. So, this was a real treat for that last night.

Speaking of canal boating. If you are following in our footsteps, you can pick up some supplies at the ASDA which is about two blocks away. There is also a post office in that complex, where you can get mobile SIM cards from (for those with unlocked phones). I would advise that if you are canaling to Skipton, you should do most of your grocery shopping there at Morrison’s.

Back to the Abbey Lodge Hotel. We had a drink at the small bar and enjoyed talking with the staff and patrons. From here, there are many places within walking distance that you can have a meal and/or a drink at. Just ask the folks at the front desk and they will make sure that you get there.

On the subject of food, the breakfast was nothing short of excellent. We had a tough day ahead and were really pleased with a refreshing and filling start.

Be warned, as my wife and I are very familiar with the Yorkshire accent and speak, we were delighted to talk and listen to the staff. We love these folks. If you are not so acquainted, it bodes well to pay attention. Yorkshire speak can be fun but at times, tricky.

Abbey Lodge Hotel arranged for a large taxi to get the four of us to Silsden (and then advised the driver on the best route). We were very sorry to have to leave (especially after a half day on the canal).

You'll not do better than staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    191
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
152
326
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel was comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was comfortably furnished with a great shower, beds, bedding, lovely curtains and tea and coffee making facilities. Excellent breakfast served by very cheerful waiting staff. Hotel represented good value for money. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabsammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night. The room was a real bargain, clean comfortable and well equipped. There is excellent parking to the rear and the staff at reception were first class, welcoming and helpful.
The only minor gripe was at breakfast. We came down at 8.40 and every table was full. This in itself was not a problem, we can happily wait.. However, we seemed to be on the runouts and had to ask for various items once we were seated. There was a delicious hot breakfast of locally sourced products but it was slightly disconcerting that staff were clearing everything away while we were still eating, although I appreciate that the official breakfast time had ended.. Perhaps a little more flexibility would have not been amiss, given the exceptionally busy breakfast room?
Still, overall very good indeed..........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swampbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here on a 1 night Friday stay.

First the good points, the rooms were decorated to a very high standard, as were the bathrooms. Nice flat screen TV with plenty of channel choice, comfy bed and a nice hospitality tray. Staff were very helpful, and breakfast had a good choice of cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was made to order. Can recommend the omlette.

The negatives were the fact that the hotel does not do food on a Friday or Saturday evening, so after travelling straight from work and arriving very hungry, we had to order in a takeaway ( which was vile, but that was not the fault of the hotel), We sat in the bar to eat, and again we were disappointed with the bar, as the hotel website leads you to believe that this is a "happening" bar, when in actual fact it is a small souless place, dominated by a huge TV ( which seemed to be stuck on the cricket channel on the evening we were there).

This is a shame as the hotel rooms etc were faultless, but the website built the bar and dining facilities up to something that simply wasn't there.

If you are looking for a top drawer B&B, with a bar maybe for a nightcap, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a hotel with a bit more substance then perhaps not.

I would stay here again but would go with different expectations

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43Becko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nearest available accomodation to Ilkley but we were certainly not disappointed!! The rooms were lovely & clean. Breakfast great, Staff brilliant - very helpful & cheerful!! Would stay here again & recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have had a lovely stay here this weekend. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our room (408) was spacious & clean. The bathroom had an excellent shower & the bed was very comfortable. We also found the breakfast on offer to be very good. In all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortolegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed overnight in Double room with spa bath, friendly helpful staff on arrival. Very informative and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very clean and comfortable, Breakfast was just perfect, we would certainly book here again. We also had my mother-in-law staying in a single room on the ground floor which was ideal owing to her slight disability, Phil and Tommy were at hand to assist us with the Mobile Scooter a big thank you to these guys and all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 507 was good for us because we requested a Double room with Spa bath, also this room is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmcgegor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
414 reviews
2.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing