We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EandL”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“EandL”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Made a fast late booking on line for the Abbey Lodge Hotel.
GREAT!!! friendly staff and service,the rooms clean and modern.
Would stay again if travelling to Bradford.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    198
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
157
332
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I cannot fault the warmth of the welcome, the 'Nothing is too much trouble attitude' of all the staff. If it wasn't there (which in the main - it was!) one just had to ask and hey-presto - Done! The rooms are very comfortable, beds -excellent and a wonderful breakfast freshly cooked to order...you don't always get that now -do you? I would most certainly return any time. Many thanks and a great WELL DONE to Abbey Lodge.

Room Tip: If you really don't want sound effects from other guests..just ask...I will next time. As this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandydl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Very comfortable, immaculately clean, excellent service & fantastic value for money. Would not consider staying anywhere else in West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 713SIOBHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent two nights at the Abbey, as I was attending a course locally for work! Booked on booking.com and was impressed from the beginning. I had assumed the reasonable price was due to my early booking- but have now realised that the pricing was as normal ( and excellent for the quality of provision).
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The staff were superb! The are friendly ( but respectful of your privacy), and noting is too much bother.
The range of breakfast provided was excellent ( especially considering the price).
We will be going back to the area for leisure this time and we will be booking directly with the Abbey! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! They are great!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had the absolute pleasure to stay at the Abbey Lodge last night & felt compelled to say what a wonderful Hotel it is. I travel round the UK with work a lot & have the dubious pleasure of enjoying faceless, bland Hotel Chains on a weekly basis. The Abbey Lodge not only represents great value for money but a surprisingly friendly & pretty 'chic' hotel, from the genuine welcome i received on arrival to a lovely breakfast this morning (with quality ingredients!!) the whole experience was a credit to the hotel owners & staff. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at The Abbey Lodge & avoid the staid corporate branded hotels that are dotted around the area!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braddas24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stay in hotels all the time for business and can be quite demanding, so before booking in my mum at this hotel I went to check it out. I couldn't have been more impressed by the staff and the accommodation.
My mum stayed over Christmas and the place was very busy - testament to the quality of the hotel. Modern but comfortable rooms, staff who can't do enough for you and a price that's extremely reasonable; this place can't come highly enough recommended by me (and as i say, I can be demanding and stay in some very luxurious hotels).
The most important thing is the family atmosphere - you feel you're a welcome guest, and you cant say that everywhere. I'll definitely be booking it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our first time for a few days away in Yorkshire. Found this hotel on line and as with any on line booking we were slightly anxious prior to arrival. Absolutely no need to be concerned!

The room was fantastic with modern fixtures and fittings, a really comfortable bed with Egyptian Cotton (at least we think it was) bedding, flat screen wall mounted tv and a massive shower. I'm a big lad so that was great. The breakfast was superb in a comfortable spacious dining room.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and when I mentioned we were going out for a meal to the Aagrah Restaurant, they told us we could get a 15% discount if we showed them the keycard. The restaurant was great and I promptly forgot to show the keycard - Doh!

All in all a great trip and a fantastic base for trips into the Dales.

One last thing. The owner is the spitting image of Mohamed Al Fayed. No, I mean it. His twin.

Paul and Jan

Room Tip: We were in Rm 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
840 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
421 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing