We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Shipley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed on BH Sunday after a wedding. The hotel's 48 rooms were full yet we still slept well and the bathroom with double shower made it worth every penny of our stay!! The rooms are nice (just missing a valance on the bed) and we could park off road. Breakfast was efficient despite it being so busy.

If your looking for somewhere on a budget and unbranded then this hotel far exceeds! Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeowen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    191
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
151
324
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed at the Abbey Lodge hotel for one night in August with my husband as we were attending a wedding in nearby Saltaire. Couldn't have asked for a more friendly welcome at the hotel, the staff were all very friendly, from the guys on reception to the kitchen staff and the barman. The room was small, but very well decorated, comfortable, and very clean. There were a lot of guests staying in the hotel up for the same wedding, and the reception staff were happy to call taxis for all of us, and to have a chat as we waited. Slept very well on the comfortable bed, and in the morning the full English breakfast was delicious. Upon checkout we decided to take a look around Shipley, and asked if we could leave our car in the car park at the back of the hotel - this was no problem, we were told we could leave it there all day if we liked. I think it is rare to get such good customer service, and if I am ever in the area again this hotel would definitely be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My room was a little on the small side (double for single occupancy), but immaculately clean with a good bathroom. Breakfast was fine, staff were friendly and my curry down the road at Shimla Spice was just superb! You won't do better for the money - Abbey Lodge comes highly recommended from me.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place is amazing for the price.....bathroom up to any hotel standard and room
though small was absolutely immaculate and stylish, staff could not be nicer.

Almost worth staying for the intelligent and amusing newsleters you can get by
email after your stay to keep in touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I used to work in a 5* hotel, and I have to say we could learn a lot from the Abbey Lodge Hotel team - especially when it comes to customer service and accommodating last minute requests - and there were plenty from a Bride-To-Be and her absentminded Best Woman... Nothing was too much trouble, all our requests had been met, they were extremely helpful - they even offered to arrange a hairdresser to come to the hotel, so we could both look gorgeous on the Wedding Day, and without the stress of looking for a hairdresser in a town we didn't know. Fi is a star!!!

I didn't have cooked breakfast, but the continental buffet selection is great - including freshly made fruit salad.

Bedroom was modern, clean, well equipped. Bathroom was the same, the only tiny little minus was the size of the towels (somebody mentioned it already) - my boyfriend is a tall man and he could hardly dry himself with a bath towel... King-size bed on the other hand was huge - I felt a little bit lost in it!

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were very well looked after on our one night stay with you prior to my husband's challenge the next day for the British Heart Foundation. Very friendly service and our dog was made very welcome too. Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our stay was excellent. The staff were hugely accommodating from start to finish, even going out of their way to contact us to tell us we'd left something at the hotel when we left. Room was pretty spacious, finished to a high standard and very clean. Breafast was plentiful and very tasty. You will struggle to find better value for money anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#6 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 62 Kirkgate, Shipley, Bradford BD18 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Shipley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Lodge Hotel Synonymous with style and hospitality Welcome to The Abbey Lodge Hotel. You already know us for our commitment to excellence and the fact that we are synonymous with style and hospitality. At The Abbey Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be as straight-forward as possible; that’s why we pride ourselves on offering all of our guests a warm, no-nonsense, Yorkshire welcome in a 100% smoke-free environment. From the moment you check in at our 24-hour reception, rest assured nothing is too much trouble for our dedicated, front-of-house team. There’s always one of the team on-hand to help you 24-7-365! The hotel has a very stylish, chic and modern vibe and is perfectly situated for you to explore all that Gods’ County of Yorkshire has to offer. Local highlights include: The UNESCO World Heritage site of Saltaire. Great days AND nights out in Leeds and Bradford, not to mention the shopping! Wander around Bronte Country, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales. If you’re going on holiday we’re very convenient for Leeds Bradford Airport too! Don’t just take our word for it! Before you book with us, take a moment to check out our feedback and see what other guests thought of their experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Shipley
Abbey Lodge Hotel Shipley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing