We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem, worth finding”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Shipley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the banks of the canal, directly opposite the Ibis Hotel, the Waterside Restaurant and Bar is Shipley's secret retaurant.In its idyllic location, the restaurant offers a range of British dishes to suit every taste and appetite. The food is locally sourced and high quality and the dishes are freshly cooked to order. With the opportunity to eat and drink 'alfresco' in the covered courtyard on warmer days, there really is no better place to dine out in the area. Come and discover for yourself. Brunch available for light snacks, Coffee and a range of Teas for a leisurely drinks by the canal.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“A little gem, worth finding”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch midweek and were disappointed to find so few patrons - this place really ought to be buzzing, the food is that good.
A limited, and summery, menu was presented with great aplomb and humour by the lady FoH (who we later understood to be the chef's mother) - I wish I had asked her name, because she was a treat, talking to us about the history of the place and how they operated. But you really go to restaurants for food, so...
I had a chicken, bacon and wild mushroom 'carbonara' with papperdelle - it was very good, well seasoned sauce and plenty of the meaty stuff, although I would have like a bit more pasta. My wife had a crab, scallop an prawn linguine which she also said was great, a side portion of very freshly cooked spinach was a worthy accompaniment. Sweet offerings could have been wider, but the ginger cake I had and the other coffee/walnut (cooked by someone's auntie) did the trick.

I look forward to going back when the autumn/winter menu is available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Geoff,
Thanks for the lovely review. We are trying hard to build up our lunchtime trade so your comments will be a great help. Your headline points to the fact we are tucked away somewhat, as we are below road level on the canal side. Hopefully your remarks will make people seek us out.
You made Gilly (James’ mother) blush with your comments but naturally she is flattered and so pleased you liked her manner. Naturally James and his team are equally delighted you enjoyed the food.
As was pointed out the evening menu is very different to lunchtime so we look forward to welcoming you back to try it out.
Thanks again for your time in posting the review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    83
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, lovely place and overall delightful meal.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We finally got to visit The Waterside after unsuccessfully trying to get in a couple of times and were absolutely delighted with the food.
We had the Thursday 2 courses and bottle of wine for 2 people at £20 each - what a bargain.
The food was the standard of Michelin star restaurants I have previously visited and the service to compliment was five star quality.
I would recommend the fish dishes in particular as they are fresh and beautifully cooked. Also the duck dish was a real treat!
We will certainly he returning, I would recommend 100%.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Levina_Masterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Levina,
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. James and his team felt really proud that you thought the food was Michelin star standard. He actually trained with Simon Gueller, who now has the BoxTree in Ilkley, and Marco Pierre White was a frequent visitor. We are really pleased you were impressed with the service too.
Delighted you liked the fish. We use top quality suppliers with award-winning Ramus supplying our fish and Bradford’s longest established butcher, Hutchinsons, our meat.
As you say our weekday deals are great value and more and more people are discovering them.
Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good mid week value”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration on a quiet Tuesday night. The food was lovely and the service was great and although there wasn't a huge amount of atmosphere due to it being a quiet night, the Tuesday steak offer they had on, more than made up for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairandhonest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Fairandhonest16,
Thanks for your excellent review and for choosing the Waterside for your birthday celebration. Tuesdays can be strange regarding the amount of customers we attract so it is a shame it was quiet when you visited. Hopefully news of our excellent value steak offer will spread; so thanks for mentioning it in your review. We also have other great offers during the week, as can be seen on our website. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I chose this restaurant due to the reports on trip advisor. We were not disapponted. The ambience , service , and food was first class. A real gem in the Shipley with local parking .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Snowyrob,
Thanks for taking the time to post such a glowing review. It really gives the team a boost and shows we are getting things right. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best restaurant in Shipley, Leeds and Bradford!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been working in this area for many months and have eaten in many restaurants. James and his team have NEVER failed to deliver an outstanding meal. My personal favourite is the belly pork. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. If you are visiting Shipley, Bradford or Leeds this restaurant is the restaurant will leave you feeling complete.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naffas241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Naffas241,

Thanks for your excellent review and wonderful accolade. We really do appreciate your regular custom and it is great to hear that we continue to maintain the high standards we have set ourselves.
There are some excellent restaurants in the region so we are honoured to hear that you believe we are up there with them.
Thanks also for recommending us to visitors to TripAdvisor. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing