We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norwood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Accrington B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meet Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4 weeks with work colleagues, We had 3 rooms booked for the month, but two of the rooms were only used 2-3 days per week but charged for seven which would be fine only when there were not using them he would rent them out also. The first 3 weeks went without any issues except for the fact that as we would leave early (6.30-7.00) there was no hot breakfast, which was fine. The house itself is a fine and well maintained building as far as B&Bs goes,

Rooms: - comfortable bed, kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits available, television with DVDs in room, en-suite well maintained also, soaps towels Etc.

Now the interesting bit, The Owner/Madnager

Meet Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, never before have I meet a more obnoxious individual, when I informed him that we were not going to book a further 4 weeks in his establishment his whole attitude changed into what could be only be classed as a raven lunatic, he accused me of smoking in the room, which for the record I never did, even said he had found ash on the outside window ledge. He informed he was also a lawyer and could take me to court if he wanted, not sure about that fact. This was then followed by him verbally abusing a work colleague for leaving a phone charger plugged in. The last incident was when another colleague was informed there was no hot breakfast available, when he queried this he was told to leave immediately or the proprietor would call the police, when informed to do so he went on what could only be classified as meltdown mode.
Again you may be one of the lucky patrons who stay here and will not be subjected to our Jekyll & Hyde, Good Luck.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management309, Public Relations Manager at Norwood Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
we have been proven to be subjected to a harmful campaign directed by individuals against the buisness, we ask that all reviews are ignored for their content as they never stayed at the property and are written by malicious attackers, we have notified the authorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    6
    5
    25
See reviews for
8
16
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Welcomed by a very helpful lady who also served breakfast. I had a spotless room with every conceivable extra that you would not expect in a B &B - bath robe, specialist teas, videos, etc. The cooked breakfast was probably the best I have ever eaten. I will certainly use this guest house in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthamptonMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Over the years I've spent a lot of time in hotels, and am bored enough with the chains to go out on a limb so with two weeks working in Accrington I booked in here. Definitely will stay here again!

The proprietor's friendly, the house is very presentable and well-furnished (and spotless!), the garden's very tidy, and the breakfast is to die for.

Fantastic service, great conversation, the manager's very helpful, and his attention to detail to ensure his guests have a very good stay is impressive.

Room Tip: Double room with single occupancy if that's appropriate for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tstaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Manager has bad attitude no hello just lecture wen he smelled smoke wen he finally opened door at 4.15 to let us check in that if smoke in room (as if I even thought of it) he fine me £500 wouldn't go back there even if it cost £10 let alone a staggering £63 for two of us for overnight

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tonyrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood349, Manager at Norwood Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2015
We have been attached please note that we have been in the hotel business for 30 years and The negative comments are merely as a result of the dozen or so people who abused the property importantly in the last 7 years that trip advisor have been without our approval been reviewing our business Nb several comments have not even stayed and were attacked by an individual who got their friends to write several review, trip advisor were alerted to this however they failed to respond to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accrington hotels

yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

arrived late afternoon manager greeted us with a smile and took us to our room witch was like a five star hotel it even had little sewing kits and plasters plenty of coffee and tea the manager kindly showed us how the remote lighting and tv worked in the morning we went for breakfast again the manager greeted us with a smile and asked if we had a good nights sleep the breakfast was excellent would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed at the norwood for two weeks whilst working away from home the rooms were very welcoming maybe a little overboard but still very pleasant the owner was very helpful although you could tell he maybe a little tempremental but was very accomadating. The breakfast was second to none.Also theres a very friendly pub right opposite called The Crown that made it all worth while.lol

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rdies0nt0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We arrived after a very long trip from London and I was surprised at how patronising and repetative the owner seem to be. 3 women and 1 guy all travelling for a short stay and yet at 10.00pm at night he was telling us to keep it quiet on our arrival. I think he assumed we were younger than what we are (which is normally a compliment) but when being told 3 or 4 times that you need to keep it down only all you want to do is sleep is more than enough. The hotel bedroom, decor, services inside the room well provide for. I went to see my friends room and was told by the landlord to go to my room and he would come and talk with me in a moment. I heard raised voices but thought nothing of it. The landlord then came to my room proceeded to tell me how things worked liek the TV, light switch and then left. Little did I know my friend had been told off like a little girl. Breakfast was faultless and the landlord mentioned my friend was upset. I couldn't work out why until I heard the terrifying story of his belittling her the previous night and saying things like "this is my hotel I can tell you to be quiet and you are young enough to be my daughter". My friend is the most calm person and respectable person and to be treated like this is awful.
I have read other reviews on this site and am not shocked to hear some of the stories.

Room Tip: If you wish to pay for good service and not feel like you've inconvenienced anyone then this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood349, General Manager at Norwood Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2015
We have been attached please note that we have been in the hotel business for 30 years and The negative comments are merely as a result of the dozen or so people who abused the property importantly in the last 7 years that trip advisor have been without our approval been reviewing our business Nb several comments have not even stayed and were attacked by an individual who got their friends to write several review, trip advisor were alerted to this however they failed to respond to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accrington
0.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Guest House

Property: Norwood Guest House
Address: 349 Whalley Road, Accrington BB5 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Accrington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Accrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Norwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing