We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Padiham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a takeaway after a recommendation, the hot and sour soup was bland and the meals were poor. Really disappointed will not be going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LancashireJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    22
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We go here regularly either to eat in or take away. The food is excellent and always good portions. The staff also are friendly and helpful

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Chinese i've had!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant for a special occasion, the birthday girl wanted to eat chinese food so after consulting tripadvisor we went to the Summer Palace, there were 8 of us in total and from the starters, crispy duck to the main courses they were excellent, every one of us said it was the best chinese food we'd ever had and between us all we had a large variety of the menu, no two people had the same food. The portion size was huge, each dish was very tasty and full of meat and vegetables. We enjoyed this place so much we have been for takeaways which have been equally awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlmancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh,Tasty Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friends and I dined here on Wedesday 15th of May 2013, it was our 2nd visit, and as before the meal was lovely, the service and wine great too. I had the special curry and I can highly recommend it, the house rose was was really good. We will be visiting Summer Palace again soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juedrop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor takeaway food.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had a takeaway on a Saturday evening and was bitterly disappointed. After the good reviews on here thought it was a good choice for some tasty Chinese food. The main meals of duck and pineapple with pickled ginger had a bizarre taste which was very off putting as we'll as this we had chicken Kung po which was bland beyond recognition. Maybe the sit down meals are better but this was very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GWHITE5287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

 
Padiham, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing