We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for 3-4 day exploratory break”
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“perfect hotel for 3-4 day exploratory break”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had one of the rooms with bedrooms upstairs and downstairs - with my dad on the ground; and me and Hazel on the top floor.
I loved the styling of the hotel.
And being right on the water always gives a freshness to a city that makes the stay more invigorating.
Eating breakfast in an open plan Ikea show-kitchen is really fun, friendly and no doubt cost effective for the owners. Really something different, with guests and staff literally bumping into each other at the range and work surfaces.
A weekend travel pass to include the water-taxis is therefore a must - and they come every 15 mins or so taking you right into the heart of the capital. From there you explore the rest on foot or by the excellent bus tours.
If I were to go back - I would definitely stay at Hotel J again. Only knocked it a star on account of affordability - but then that's a Skandi thing generally for us poor Brits.
Faultless otherwise.

Room Tip: get one looking out over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    228
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
109
282
27
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night and loved the maritime design of the room and lobby area. Had dinner at the restaurant at the harbour, which was very tasty and offered great view. I booked the room including breakfast for a reasonable price. Found breakfast okay but not particularly memorable (besides some of the sweets on offer). It is quite a big hotel and some of the views can be a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here last month on a long weekend break and really cannot fault the place. The setting is wonderful with sea views and well worth the 20 minutes journey from the city centre. Rooms are excellent if a little on the small side but we spent very little time here as we came to explore the city so wasn't a problem. Breakfast always had a good selection of hot and cold food and was a good start to the day.
We had 1 evening meal at the hotel restaurant which was nice but be warned you will need to book a table at least 24 hours in advance. As mentioned earlier the hotel is a 20 minute boat ferry away or roughly the same time on the bus at the top of the hill - I would advise buying an SL card as soon as you arrive at the airport if you are planning to use public transport as its well worth the money.
On the island there is a large shopping mall at the top of the hill about a 15 minute walk away which has a food hall and a supermarket which we found useful.

If you are looking for a peaceful city hotel then this is the place for you !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, Essex,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked a room with a seaview on the hotels website which cost 280 euros for one night, for this price level I think the hotel is overpiced when compared to the facilities and service you receive.
I paid 400sek extra for a sea view, but had to strain my eyes through the trees to see the sea, but we did have a lovely view of the hotel fire escape.
The rooms were clean and furnished with good quality fittings however the design wasn't as good as some of the much cheaper hotels i'd stayed at, for example the design of the matt black floor meant it always looked dirty, the handles on the wardrobes were made of leather string and broke instantly upon arrival. There was no towel heater in the bathroom and the only towel rail was directly opposite the shower, located too close so when the shower was on full power your towels got wet.
There wasn't enough glasses in the room and one was dirty.
The towels were made by GANT - but were quite worn.
The hotel has no sauna/spa swimming pool, they have a connection to one locally but its quite a long walk to it up a large hill - elderly guests can forget it !.
The hotel restaurant was excellent very high quality, but again is a 10 minute walk to the hotel up and down a large hill.
Breakfast was a real let down, the staff seemed like headless chickens disorganised and the selection on offer wasn't great, I've had much better breakfasts at best western hotels, which were closer to 100 euros a night... not 300 euros a night !.
Secure Parking is available on site in an underground garage - 10 euros a day.
The staff seemed knowledgeable - But getting to and from the hotel to gammlastan was a real hassle, boats come often to the boat stop 10 minute walk from the hotel, but most you cant buy tickets on board you have to have an SL card... which they don't sell at hotel reception, you have a long walk into town to find a shop that will sell you one and you can't buy a day pass you have to buy it just before you travel, also the shop were you buy the SL card do not speak any english.
There is however one "tourist" style boat which you can pay cash on board... but it only goes to one place "slussen".
Tea and coffee are charged for extra in the hotel reception - there is no facilities available in the room.

Room Tip: I would stay here again - But its too expensive for the service provided, Max you should pay to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parts_By_Post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel back in September of 2012 for a birthday treat.
Its just wonderful to be out of the main city and on the edge of all the islands. Every day watching tall boats and also some of the liners leisurely pass by.
Rooms are modern with a hint of the sea style in navy & white with wooden painted ceilings and floors. Balconies are a fantastic bonus overlooking the sea. Its very quiet so great for a getaway for a couple.
Breakfast buffet is in the older building down by the water - wonderful food and relaxed atmosphere. You can book a meal for the evening at their restaurant down by the quay - fresh and locally sourced food in a great setting - there was a party of Swedes in their with their families all celebrating and singing - really felt part of the setting.
Theres regular taxi boats into the main city that takes 15-20 minutes but it does get pricey if you're popping in and out so make sure you acquire a weekend pass or similar.
Beautiful setting - professional hotel - and some fantastic food!!!!! A must try place.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the water are lovely. Head for the main harbour of Stockholm to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoes1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent our weddingday and had a very plesant stay! Got upgraded without extra cost when i told that it was our weddingday! Can really recommend it! Breakfast inkluded pancakes which were very good with home made jam.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_Ohrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found out about J Hotel on TripAdvisor, and when we arrived in Stockholm, I had great concern that the hotel was far away from the city center. Turned out this was not so. There is regular, and fast, boat service to the city, and lots of buses. Each are about twenty minutes, and the boat trip is well worth the time because it lets you see so many of the buildings you want to see in Stockholm anyway. As for the hotel, it is beautifully decorated in a boat motif, hence the "J" reminiscent of the J boats that previously raced in the America's Cup. The hotel looks over the water, and the service was great, the staff is very friendly, etc. Really a great find. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,308 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
551 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,648 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Property: Hotel J
Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing