We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delusions of grandeur”
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked a room with a seaview on the hotels website which cost 280 euros for one night, for this price level I think the hotel is overpiced when compared to the facilities and service you receive.
I paid 400sek extra for a sea view, but had to strain my eyes through the trees to see the sea, but we did have a lovely view of the hotel fire escape.
The rooms were clean and furnished with good quality fittings however the design wasn't as good as some of the much cheaper hotels i'd stayed at, for example the design of the matt black floor meant it always looked dirty, the handles on the wardrobes were made of leather string and broke instantly upon arrival. There was no towel heater in the bathroom and the only towel rail was directly opposite the shower, located too close so when the shower was on full power your towels got wet.
There wasn't enough glasses in the room and one was dirty.
The towels were made by GANT - but were quite worn.
The hotel has no sauna/spa swimming pool, they have a connection to one locally but its quite a long walk to it up a large hill - elderly guests can forget it !.
The hotel restaurant was excellent very high quality, but again is a 10 minute walk to the hotel up and down a large hill.
Breakfast was a real let down, the staff seemed like headless chickens disorganised and the selection on offer wasn't great, I've had much better breakfasts at best western hotels, which were closer to 100 euros a night... not 300 euros a night !.
Secure Parking is available on site in an underground garage - 10 euros a day.
The staff seemed knowledgeable - But getting to and from the hotel to gammlastan was a real hassle, boats come often to the boat stop 10 minute walk from the hotel, but most you cant buy tickets on board you have to have an SL card... which they don't sell at hotel reception, you have a long walk into town to find a shop that will sell you one and you can't buy a day pass you have to buy it just before you travel, also the shop were you buy the SL card do not speak any english.
There is however one "tourist" style boat which you can pay cash on board... but it only goes to one place "slussen".
Tea and coffee are charged for extra in the hotel reception - there is no facilities available in the room.

Room Tip: I would stay here again - But its too expensive for the service provided, Max you should pay to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parts_By_Post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel back in September of 2012 for a birthday treat.
Its just wonderful to be out of the main city and on the edge of all the islands. Every day watching tall boats and also some of the liners leisurely pass by.
Rooms are modern with a hint of the sea style in navy & white with wooden painted ceilings and floors. Balconies are a fantastic bonus overlooking the sea. Its very quiet so great for a getaway for a couple.
Breakfast buffet is in the older building down by the water - wonderful food and relaxed atmosphere. You can book a meal for the evening at their restaurant down by the quay - fresh and locally sourced food in a great setting - there was a party of Swedes in their with their families all celebrating and singing - really felt part of the setting.
Theres regular taxi boats into the main city that takes 15-20 minutes but it does get pricey if you're popping in and out so make sure you acquire a weekend pass or similar.
Beautiful setting - professional hotel - and some fantastic food!!!!! A must try place.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the water are lovely. Head for the main harbour of Stockholm to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkletoes1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent our weddingday and had a very plesant stay! Got upgraded without extra cost when i told that it was our weddingday! Can really recommend it! Breakfast inkluded pancakes which were very good with home made jam.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_Ohrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found out about J Hotel on TripAdvisor, and when we arrived in Stockholm, I had great concern that the hotel was far away from the city center. Turned out this was not so. There is regular, and fast, boat service to the city, and lots of buses. Each are about twenty minutes, and the boat trip is well worth the time because it lets you see so many of the buildings you want to see in Stockholm anyway. As for the hotel, it is beautifully decorated in a boat motif, hence the "J" reminiscent of the J boats that previously raced in the America's Cup. The hotel looks over the water, and the service was great, the staff is very friendly, etc. Really a great find. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was a great little find.
Not in centre but not very difficult to get to (Buss to slussen 12 min and water taxi about 30 min to centre). We had a 3 day public transport card and it worked on one out of three of the water taxi companies (a shame actually, as the others where more frequent).
Nice and clean rooms, comfortable beds. Would have been nice to be able to make your own tea/coffie in room though.
Unfortunately the wifi didn't work to well at all times in the room, but only used it really to check bus time table.
Great great breakfast! Fresh and good variety.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After 3 weeks in the heart of the city near T-Centrallen, finishing off the last 3 days in Nacka was heavenly! My husband was there on business but the last 3 days was little time to unwind and enjoy Sweden's long days and beautiful weather. J Hotel was the perfect hotel for that. I love the nautical theme of the hotel. Felt so open and airy and decor so simple and inviting. We had a room in one of the newer buildings on the 2nd floor with a wonderful view. The higher the better though. The breakfast was ample. Don't miss the pancakes with buttery cream and home made preserves or syrup. So good! Everything else is pretty much the typical buffet on a slightly grander scale. There's a cute little honor bar in the lobby with light snacks and beverages. Get a glass of bubbly and sit outside to watch cruise ships pass, sail boats float by, and the sun glisten over the sea. Every look out to horizon was a picture moment. So beautiful.

Room Tip: For a view, the higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Probably I'm spoilt by turkish hotels... but kitchen decor for the hotel room was not what I expected at all. And if they are for a nautical theme: where is salmon on the breakfast table? Restaturant J has good standard, high prices and no competition at all around on Sunday evening. Nacka Forum is great for shopping, lots of stores and almost no people at all:)
And I mean even Ibis hotel has free coffee and tea for the guests - here you are expected to pay for everything, very bad from the hospitality point of view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laststation45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,327 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,697 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing