We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel J when my client in Nacka invited me to work with him for a week. The hotel made me feel welcome, a very friendly staff was always helpful, the rooms are nicely designed and the food at the restaurants is exceptional.
The Club House where Breakfast is served always seemed to be booked at dinner time for various conferences but Restaurant J right on the water is a great alternative just 200 meters away.

I highly and whole-heartedly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
There are newer reviews for Hotel J
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 677 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Stockholm last easter and stayed at J suite (2 adults and 2 children). The bedroom was upstairs with bathroom and the bed was big enough for us parents and 3 year old. Our youngest slept in baby cot between wall and the bed, so it was a tight fit but it didn't bother us due to the short stay. Downstairs was the living area and balcony with views to the sea. We could watch the familiar Viking Line and Silja Line ferries go by.

The style of the place is well descibed in their web pages: Stockholm's Newport. For me it felt like living in Gant world - casual, relaxed, harmonious, nostalgic vibe. It definately was not a peak season, so the hotel's restaurant was closed, but yet we got a delicious swedish meatballs delivered as a room service for the first night. Other night we went to the marina's yachting club, nice ambiance and good food with a salty touch. Hotel J's breakfast was good to our scandinavian taste, porridge, fresh bread, salmon, cheese, pickles etc.

Location is kind of a mix between residential area and offices, just short ride to the city center by bus, taxi (hotel called us taxi with baby seats) or summer time even boat, which sounds just the right way to go to Stockholm. Besides sighseeing in the city, we walked to the Nacka Forum, maybe 15 min from the hotel, where we did some shopping. Shopping mall has good selection of high street fashion, cafes and Coop for grocieries.

Reception also told us that there is Nyckelvikens herrgård (old mansion with beautiful gardens and farm animals) close by which is a nice place to go with kids, but we didn't have time to visit there this time.

We were happy with the hotel, it has elegant style, the service was good and attentive. Regarding the timing, easter was a good time to visit Stockholm only the smallest places were closed due to the holiday. But to fully appreciate the city and the hotel, late spring or summer time would be the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Lomalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nicely located near Stockholm with its own parking garage. You can leave your car and visit the capital by boat. The hotel has a high standard and an excellent kitchen. The reception with its efficient and service minded staff makes all kind off contact pleasant.

Thank mrplotswe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My whole stay from start to finish has been amazing.

The room I stayed in couldn't have had a better view (photo's uploaded) as I was in an end room next to the water. I was working in the area, less than a 5 minute walk away as it turned out, and everything really made sense with this hotel.

Spacious, clean and very functional. Bed was the size of 2 singles, nice desk area, balcony, bay window, with seat, mini bar and nicely decked out bathroom. This was a seaview room and it really was spectacular in my opinion.

Staff couldn't be more helpful. The lounge was a little different with an "honest box" policy for getting drinks. Help yourself and put the details of what you had on a sheet of paper.

For a little bit of shopping, as I'd forgotten to bring a belt with me, there was a shopping centre just a 15 minutes walk away, which was very handy.

I ate in the restaurant one evening and was very pleasantly surprised. The steak I had was very tender and everything about the dining experience was relaxed and enjoyable.

I certainly look forward to staying here again if I have the opportunity (which I should have in the next couple of months.)

Room Tip: Get a "Seaview" room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Galbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hotel is easy to find. The Hotel is embedded in a beautyfull landscape, directly on the water.
The poeple on the reception are very helpful. The breakfast is excellent.If you are not going for dinner to Stockholm, you will get very fine food in the Jachting Club close to the Hotel. The rooms are very nice, silent and comfortable.What you get for the money is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was an excellent value relative to very high priced Stockholm. The rooms were generous (by European standards), with comfortable beds, nice amenities and a "Newport-style". Staff was helpful and friendly, the grounds and common areas were great to kick back and relax. Breakfast was tasty, located in the older building overlooking the water. I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to first time visitors to Stockholm, since it takes 15 minutes to reach the city center by bus. We had the 7 day SL card, and because of the beautiful weather, hopped on the hourly ferry to & from Nybroplan at every opportunity, the dock is a short 5 minute walk. This would be a bit much if you were to make multiple daily trips into the city, but the hotel would make an excellent base for a more relaxed visit. Local area in Nacka didn't have too much going on. A local conference center seemed to draw quite a few businessmen to the hotel the days we were there, so the restaurant and bar were busy. All in all, the hotel suited our purpose and made for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were so happy to find this place. Take the bus 443 from Slussen and you'll get to Nacka in 15 minutes. From the bus stop it is a short 300-meter walk to the the hotel. Although J. is a little expensive, the rooms are very nice with a Gant,Newport styled decoration. We were a disappointed when the hotel restaurants were closed: it would have been nice that the staff let us know they were reserved for private events on beforehand. Now we had to leave to Stockholm City for dinner. This was a little bit annoying. But all in all, the breakfast was very good quality and delicious. This definitely is for couples & relaxing. Would go back!

Room Tip: We had room 160 which is a seaview room but we only saw a glimpse of the seawater. It was nice to ha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tupuna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,320 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,675 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range: $147 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing