We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveler rating
464
266
40
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
266
40
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nacka strand sea view honesty bar minute ferry ride city centre separate building boat stop breakfast is served relaxing hotel living room baltic sea during summer overlooking the water new england style breakfast room fantastic hotel design hotel
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 781 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. I don't give five stars easily.

The hotel is set on large grounds which makes you feel separated from the large city that sits minutes away. There is ample car parking that is secured.

The hotel sits adjacent to restaurant J which was excellent. The seafood platter for one fed two of us. Another night we had the burger and seafood casserole, which were excellent. The restaurant was full each night of the three we saw it.

One can reach the hotel on a ferry, bus or car. Their is a large shopping centre in Nacka Strand about fifteen minutes walk away. Zara through to supermarket if a need arises.

If you want to see Stockholm, do it from here. Buy a round ticket on the ferry, enjoy the city, then come back to relaxation with a room and facilities twice the size and more relaxed.

We are now in the old town and wonder why we moved!

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

J is in a great location, only 20 mins away from SCK city center by boat. It is a very a beatiful and cosy Hotel and the fireplace in the lobby is a hit. Breakfast is very rich adn service friendly, one feels at home. Rooms are spacious and very well designed. Wifi works very well.

Room tip: Choose a room overlooking the mountain, much quiter.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As a young Brit that has worked in Stockholm almost every week for the last couple of years, I was looking for something a bit different when my partner came over for the weekend in August. We've stayed right in the centre of the city before, so went a little further afield this time.

We opted for Hotel J out in Nacka Strand, and were not disappointed.

The staff were very helpful and polite throughout our stay, and the room was perfect. Situated on the fourth floor of the main building, facing the sea, we had an amazing view from our balcony.

Don't be put off by the location; you can reach Nacka Strand by bus (443 from Slussen), ferry (~£11 return, or half that for a single) or taxi (~£20 from the centre). We got a taxi out there and then enjoyed a ferry trip back in.

"The Club House" provides a decent Swedish breakfast, along with drinks and food from 4pm each day. We had a club sandwich (amazing) and a glass of wine in the gardens - immense. 5 minutes down the coast you'll find Restaurant J (associated with the hotel if you were wondering), which is where we ate. Do phone ahead as it can get busy - we called Friday night for a booking on Saturday and got in fine. The food is excellent; with a variety of fresh fish and meat dishes on offer.

We will be visiting again.

Room tip: The sea view rooms are the ones to go for; we had one on the fourth floor which had its own balcony and an incredible view.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was my first time to Stockholm. I wasn't sure if staying outside of the center would be a good or bad idea. Would it be a pain to explore the city and then return to our hotel? The conclusion, not at all.

Purchasing an unlimited ride card for the public transportation system here is the way to go whether you are staying in the city center or on a surrounding island.

In the case of the Hotel J, we were served by three bus lines and a ferry service, both within 5 tp 10 mintues from our door!

As for the hotel, the rooms are excellent and the breakfast outstanding!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wglasswill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Forget city hotels, take a taxi, rent a car, do whatever just stay at this hotel. Ignor ANY bad reviews, if you want to relax after exploring a busy city ( which is only a short drive away ) look no where else. We have stayed in many hotels in stockholm center and dont bother. Best value for money I have found, me and my fiancé have stayed in posh hotels all over the world and have been left wanting, but the charm and the atmosphere here just grabs you and you think, "now I'm on holiday" it is all new, the building even smells like it has just been built, the cleanliness is impeccable. I am writing this sat in the hotel room as I am so impressed. Don't pay for the sea view (of course do if you wish) but the standard garden view is fine.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hackett2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews