We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveler rating
455
264
37
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
264
37
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnacka strandsea viewhonesty barminute ferry ridecity centreseparate buildingboat stopbreakfast is servedliving roomrelaxing hotelduring summeroverlooking the waterbreakfast roomnew england stylecold meatsvery pleasant staystayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 767 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a relaxing couple of days at this hotel and I definitely recommend it. Staff are very pleasant and helpful - The rooms are great and the views over looking the sea are stunning.

The food served at the restaurant was good and prices were reasonable at around 200kr for a main course. Breakfast was a typical healthy Scandinavian smörgåsbord comprising of hot dishes, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, juices, tasty breads, yoghurt and plenty of juices and this is included in the daily rate.

If you want to leave the car at the hotel (100kr a day) this is a good option since the 20 minute ferry ride from Nacka beach is a good alternative.

Room Tip: Take the ferry from Nacka beach directly in to the centre of Stockholm - 40kr each way Also, one of Sweden's largest shopping centres is in walking distant from the hotel - providing you don't buy too much! Parking in Stockholm centre is expensive - I pulled in to an average looking car park and paid no attention to the prices and to my horror was charged 70kr an hour!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Tucked away behind spruce and fir, perched upon the shore at Nacka Strand is a delight of a hotel. Reached by boat (the best way to go) from Nybroplan or by bus from Slussen (both not far from T-Central) Nacka Strand is a strange mix of modern office buildings and old harbour. The Hotel J consists of three distinct buildings - two of which date from the turn of the last century and one of which is bang up to date. The guest rooms are mostly held in the modern annexes and are decorated in blue and white and are apparently in homage to a an American sailing yacht. The rooms are quiet and well presented. One small complaint is the shower tends to get a bit messy so close the bathroom door or risk flooding your room! The Clubhouse serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and is also the location of the bar. The kitchen is rather good, though limited selection for dinner. The staff are warm and friendly. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_sumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is my standard hotel each week 3 nights as I am working in Nacka.
Beautifull and peacefull surounding, good bed and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerardredert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel because my husband was there for a meeting about vocational training. Well equipped meeting-centre. The hotel is beautifully situated on the riverside. The hotel had 5 brand-new bicycle for rent (200 SKR/day). So I took advantage of this. By my return the staff was really interested in what I was visiting. Centre of Stockholm is located at approximately 15 km by road. But you can easily take the bike on de boat that brings you across the water to de city-centre. Really helpful staff. Good choice. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_en_Solange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for one night (I wish it was more!) at this beautiful boutique hotel. We stayed in a J Newport Seaview room and it couldn't have been more perfect. The room had a terrace over-looking the sea and we enjoyed a bottle of wine on the terrace before dinner. The hotel and subsequently all the rooms are decorated in a 'New England/Hamptons' style with linens and towels from Gant.
Yes you have to get a boat to get there and it's located a little bit outside of Stockholm but the transport links are great and who doesn't want to get on a boat to get to a fabulous hotel?! Adds to the charm of it all. The harbour where you catch the boat to and from Nybroplan is a couple of minutes walk down the hill which is also where J Restaurant is located. We ate here and I couldn't fault it. The service was great and it was a warm evening so we had dinner whilst watching the sun set.
Very friendly and helpful staff and all in all a great hotel. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroadwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews