We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Obsidian Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cases de Sant Jaume

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cases de Sant Jaume
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Obsidian Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

After my third visit in six months, I thought it was time to go into print. On my first and second visits I was accompanied by my daughter who had been before and felt it was just the sort of holiday I would enjoy. I look for organized ( but voluntary) activities as well as pleasant surroundings and good company. I am a vegetarian ( most of the time!) and I suppose that my objective could be said to be to enhance my general wellbeing. The daily walk, coupled with the Pilates ,Yoga and rebounding provided adequate activities and the variety of juices, salads and cooked meals ensured that there was no lack of good food for those who were not too concerned with losing weight. That said, losing weight was inevitable if you indulge in the activities. For those for whom losing weight was the prime objective the weigh in at the end of their stay was usually greeted with delight - even tears of happiness.

I recently went without my daughter and enjoyed the visit and the company was again excellent. Quite apart from what was provided, I learned more about how to use my Mac sitting in the reception area that I had from workshops at the Apple Store. By chance one of the ladies was a university lecturer on computer sciences - and she was so helpful. In general, I found that all the other guests were very friendly and I never felt that I was alone.

As I am on my own, I was considering my options for getting away for Xmas and after considering various cruises, I decided that I would opt for Obsidian Retreat instead as I knew it would be an enjoyable experience. Andy, Carol and all the staff are so welcoming and I really feel at home the instant I arrive.

I accept that Obsidian will not please everyone but the people I meet there who are on repeat visits like myself are testimony to the fact that most visitors are very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I'm not sure I know how to describe my 4 day trip to the retreat. Incredible just isnt enough. The rooms are large and clean - I only had a standard room but even these are all en-suite. A little peek in the suite's and I was mightily impressed. The staff are wonderful and the healthy nature of the food mean you are going to have the luxury of feeling and looking healthy within just a few days. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The suites are pretty amazing, if you can afford them its worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulhealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

The website suggests that there is a restaurant for dinner and snacks facilities for lunch; we found out that this was not the case; it was indicated that as from june 15th the restaurant may be operational.
A very good B&B rather than a hotel.
It would appear that with a new owner a restart is made after a bad spell.
The one woman/man staff was extremely friendly and going out of their way to provide service within the very small operational scope they enjoy.

Room Tip: Junior suites are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

First of all I should say we didn't stay here - we were renting a villa nearby. We just came upon the place while invetigating local restaurants. It's in a rural settting, small 26-room hotel with a lovely pool. Room are rustic/simple, nice decor, spotless (we checked them out). The service was a little slow, but they have just reopened under new management so perhaps to be expected. However, they were very keen to accommodate, and the chef himself came out to translate the menu options for us. We ate in the courtyard, although the indoor restaurant was beautifully laid out with white napery etc. Food was outstanding and not expensive.

Lovely boutique hotel worth checking out.

  • Liked — Lovely setting and amazing food
  • Disliked — Electrical pylons close by
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al Zaraq
Hotel Al Zaraq
#2 of 5 in Benissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#8 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Masia La Mota
0.0 mi away
The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cases de Sant Jaume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cases de Sant Jaume

Property: Cases de Sant Jaume
Address: Partida Paratella 44, 03720, Benissa, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Hotel Class:3 star — Cases de Sant Jaume 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cases de Sant Jaume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing