We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky room in a castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a small hotel in an old castle. We were not expecting palatial rooms as old castles tend to have small rooms. What we did not expect was a suite of rooms. Our bedroom was a reasonable size with a nice sized bathroom off it. From here we had a short corridor that led to a lounge with a further bedroom and bathroom off it. The lounge had steps leading to a good sized terrace at the top of the castle with fantastic views.
The rooms were a bit musty but opening the windows soon cleared that.
Food in the restaurant (which is just outside the hotel but within the castle) was good simple Spanish food and service was excellent.
Breakfast, in the hotel, was a simple cold buffet but they had everything we needed.
The castle itself contains many small craft shops mostly selling similar products, but it is delightful and full of character.

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem. There is a parking area before you reach the castle (signposted) but it is...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPassions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited with another couple as the area had been recommended to us because of the mountain and lake views. The hotel is in a good location with fantastic views. Our rooms were good with comfortable beds and great views from the windows. Cleanliness could have been better. There was a lot of dust and stains on the two armchairs. The minibar was a nice touch, although the fridge was not working in one of our rooms. Also, the hair dryer did not work in one of the rooms. There were no individual bedside lights so lights had to stay on on both sides of the bed if one person was reading in bed. Beds were comfortable.
The main downside was that the hotel restaurant was the only place to eat in the evening, and the food quality was poor. Large menu, suggesting everything was out of the freezer. Meat and fish were dry, tough and overcooked. Breakfast was very basic, tea, coffee, orange juice, toast and jams/spreads.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Unfortunately have not stayed here, but took a look at some of the facilities for future reference.....We had snacks and drinks up on the terrace, with the views of the valley and lakes below, but also the cobbled street that wound down just below us....This restored living castle is wonderful, full of atmosphere and can be whatever you want it to be.....magical, would like to stay here for at least one night....very pleasant courteous staff...Only a short drive from La Linea (where we were staying) and of course the airport at Gibraltar....A fantastic location...we will be back...An added bonus, is that this castle grounds are free to wander round and visit the artistes who have studios here......

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a recommendation from my friend about this place and decided to book myself and my wife and my parents as it was there anniversary and my Dads birthday. We got them the superior room as an extra treat and was extremely impressed with it. The views from the balcony were stunning and the room itself was perfect. It was much bigger than I'd expected and for the price an absolute bargin. We ate in the restaurant and as they knew it was his birthday they brought out a cake with a candle for desert. Staff were very nice and helpful and walking around the old lanes of the castle court is so relaxing. There are some real gems in the shops with great artists and handicraft shops. If you are in the area or planning a trip through its a great place to spend a day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place is one of my favourite places around the area with great history. Unfortunately I never had the pleasure to stay over night but going there for a snack or coffee on Sunday will definitely make your day. The view is just breath taking and old restored castle is just the cherry on the top. Every time I go there I feel like prince without a horse :-) Check also the Castellar zoo while you are there. Only **** because the terrace is unsupervised and you have to keep going back inside if you wish to order anything else, and last time the fire exit door was closed and we had to knock 5 minutes to be let back inside ;-)

Room Tip: Once you are there, enjoy your drink on the Terrace, left next to the reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in "superior rooms" in the castle itself at the start of a tour of Andalusia and looking back on all the places we visited, this is the one we enjoyed the most. It's only a little over half an hour's drive from Gibraltar airport but another world once you arrive, as the hotel's hill-top location is in the middle of the beautiful "Alcornocales" national park. Our "room" turned out to be a suite of 2 living rooms, bedroom and bathroom, and on entering all eyes were drawn to the stunning view out over the valley and reservoir. The only negative was a persistent "stagnant water" odour in the bathroom, but for that view I'll forgive them this.

The other really great thing about the hotel is the pretty maze of lanes and cottages surrounding it. It's totally pedestrianised and we loved wandering round, taking in the sights and enjoying the peaceful ambience. Note that there is just 1 restaurant in the village, also owned by the hotel, so that's the only option for lunch and dinner. It offers a wide choice and served very generous portions of everything that we ordered. Food was hearty country fare - I'd certainly recommend the wild boar - and my only criticism is that some dishes were a bit oily.

Room for improvement - the hotel doesn't have any information about the locality. We asked about local walks, or at least a map, and none were offered. However the receptionist told us that if we turned left out of the hotel we'd come to a footpath that we could follow, and that turned out to be correct but I can't help feeling that given the spectacular location there must be other great walks that we missed out on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

24 hours at this hotel is a must when in this part of Spain. The views from the roof-top are worth the cost of the room for a night. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and not expensive. The staff were also very good.

Room Tip: Disabled access to the hotel was quite poor, in fact disability is not catered for to the village as...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellar de la Frontera
20.4 mi away
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
41 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
#1 of 1 in San Martin del Tesorillo
55 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Castellar
Hotel Castellar
#1 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
417 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Almenara Resort
Hotel Almenara Resort
#1 of 5 in Sotogrande
686 reviews
11.8 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar

Address: Calle Rosario 3, 11350 Castellar de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Castellar de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Castellar de la Frontera
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing