We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Castle with GREAT VIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Castle with GREAT VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place is one of my favourite places around the area with great history. Unfortunately I never had the pleasure to stay over night but going there for a snack or coffee on Sunday will definitely make your day. The view is just breath taking and old restored castle is just the cherry on the top. Every time I go there I feel like prince without a horse :-) Check also the Castellar zoo while you are there. Only **** because the terrace is unsupervised and you have to keep going back inside if you wish to order anything else, and last time the fire exit door was closed and we had to knock 5 minutes to be let back inside ;-)

Room Tip: Once you are there, enjoy your drink on the Terrace, left next to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in "superior rooms" in the castle itself at the start of a tour of Andalusia and looking back on all the places we visited, this is the one we enjoyed the most. It's only a little over half an hour's drive from Gibraltar airport but another world once you arrive, as the hotel's hill-top location is in the middle of the beautiful "Alcornocales" national park. Our "room" turned out to be a suite of 2 living rooms, bedroom and bathroom, and on entering all eyes were drawn to the stunning view out over the valley and reservoir. The only negative was a persistent "stagnant water" odour in the bathroom, but for that view I'll forgive them this.

The other really great thing about the hotel is the pretty maze of lanes and cottages surrounding it. It's totally pedestrianised and we loved wandering round, taking in the sights and enjoying the peaceful ambience. Note that there is just 1 restaurant in the village, also owned by the hotel, so that's the only option for lunch and dinner. It offers a wide choice and served very generous portions of everything that we ordered. Food was hearty country fare - I'd certainly recommend the wild boar - and my only criticism is that some dishes were a bit oily.

Room for improvement - the hotel doesn't have any information about the locality. We asked about local walks, or at least a map, and none were offered. However the receptionist told us that if we turned left out of the hotel we'd come to a footpath that we could follow, and that turned out to be correct but I can't help feeling that given the spectacular location there must be other great walks that we missed out on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

24 hours at this hotel is a must when in this part of Spain. The views from the roof-top are worth the cost of the room for a night. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and not expensive. The staff were also very good.

Room Tip: Disabled access to the hotel was quite poor, in fact disability is not catered for to the village as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman on the Move
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent the night in a wonderful environment- peaceful, fantastic views. The castle has been well-restored, rooms at an excellent price. Very friendly , helpful staff. Breakfast on the terrace was great.
One word of warning, do not take a large suitcase, it is a sharp climb from the street below.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loafingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellar de la Frontera
3.1 mi away
Hotel Castellar
Hotel Castellar
#1 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Almenara
Hotel Almenara
#1 of 6 in Sotogrande
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
8.3 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 6 in Sotogrande
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Utopia
Hotel Utopia
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
9.2 mi away
Guadacorte Park
Guadacorte Park
#3 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
9.7 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar

Property: Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Address: Calle Rosario 3, 11350 Castellar de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Castellar de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Castellar de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing