We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views in a unique location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in "superior rooms" in the castle itself at the start of a tour of Andalusia and looking back on all the places we visited, this is the one we enjoyed the most. It's only a little over half an hour's drive from Gibraltar airport but another world once you arrive, as the hotel's hill-top location is in the middle of the beautiful "Alcornocales" national park. Our "room" turned out to be a suite of 2 living rooms, bedroom and bathroom, and on entering all eyes were drawn to the stunning view out over the valley and reservoir. The only negative was a persistent "stagnant water" odour in the bathroom, but for that view I'll forgive them this.

The other really great thing about the hotel is the pretty maze of lanes and cottages surrounding it. It's totally pedestrianised and we loved wandering round, taking in the sights and enjoying the peaceful ambience. Note that there is just 1 restaurant in the village, also owned by the hotel, so that's the only option for lunch and dinner. It offers a wide choice and served very generous portions of everything that we ordered. Food was hearty country fare - I'd certainly recommend the wild boar - and my only criticism is that some dishes were a bit oily.

Room for improvement - the hotel doesn't have any information about the locality. We asked about local walks, or at least a map, and none were offered. However the receptionist told us that if we turned left out of the hotel we'd come to a footpath that we could follow, and that turned out to be correct but I can't help feeling that given the spectacular location there must be other great walks that we missed out on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

24 hours at this hotel is a must when in this part of Spain. The views from the roof-top are worth the cost of the room for a night. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and not expensive. The staff were also very good.

Room Tip: Disabled access to the hotel was quite poor, in fact disability is not catered for to the village as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent the night in a wonderful environment- peaceful, fantastic views. The castle has been well-restored, rooms at an excellent price. Very friendly , helpful staff. Breakfast on the terrace was great.
One word of warning, do not take a large suitcase, it is a sharp climb from the street below.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loafingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank zaidacasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La casa nº 1 es estupenda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ssarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cosinelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellar de la Frontera
20.4 mi away
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
76 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Castellar
Hotel Castellar
#1 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
286 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
#1 of 1 in San Martin del Tesorillo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
8.1 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
429 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Utopia
Hotel Utopia
#2 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar

Address: Calle Rosario 3, 11350 Castellar de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Castellar de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Castellar de la Frontera
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing