We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and needs updating”
Review of Hostal El Anon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Anon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and needs updating”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We paid 62 € for a small room with a very dated bathroom with a shower over the bath where you couldn't avoid contact with the unpleasant shower curtain. There were no toiletries other than a cheap pump bottle of handwash. There was a bed, a built in wardrobe and drawer unit and nothing else in the bedroom. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant however the bedroom, whilst I appreciate was 'rustic' it was very basic and overpriced when compared to similar accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joexoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We're so glad we found this little gem in the white village Jimena de la Frontera! After a scary snake incident in our rural cottage just on the outskirts of the village, we decided to leave and find alternative accommodation. Hostal El Anon turned our holiday into something very special. It is situated in the center of the village with tapas bars and restaurants in walking distance and has a small pool on the top terrace looking out over the quirky streets and the beautiful countryside. It is ideal for couples and families alike. Breakfast is served outside on another of the many terraces with beautiful gardens. It really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Eight of us from our Spanish language class had a field trip in Jimena de la Frontera and went to the Hostel el Anon for our lunch.

The welcome was extremely friendly and the ambience of the bar area was also extremely welcoming. On a very hot June day the interior was lovely and cool and the terrace areas also gave a lovely respite from the heat. After eating we were able to go on the roof terrace to get a bit more sun, whilst people used the swimming pool to cool down a little.

The lunch was very good indeed. The menu was extremely varied and offered some traditional Spanish dishes as well as a Cottage Pie if you were so inclined - none of our group were.

A shared mixed salad was the starter, together with lovely home made liver pate on home made bread. I had the salmon fillet in an orange sauce, which was lovely and others in our group had the roast quail, venison, pork, chicken tagine and more. All of us were unanimous that the food was excellent.

A couple of bottles of house wine and the odd beer rounded everything off for about twenty something euro's a head.

A really enjoyable day out!! Would certainly recommend an overnight stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_in_Estepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A quaint homely comfortable hotel with a great atmosphere. Situated on a steep street with lots of stairs to get about in the hotel so you need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this hotel. Rooms basic but comfortable and clean. Good continental breakfast served on a lovely terrace which is lively bar area in the evenings. One of the best restaurants in Jimeno. Beautiful gardens and a rooftop pool make the el Anon a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Fantastic cosy secluded restaurant, lovely setting, a bit hit and miss on the menu, some very tasty, some not so tasty dishes, all very well presented.Service was great, all in all a good experiecne but te food was not the highlight unfortunately. Still the best place in Jimena by far.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robotcowbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in a small, cold and sparsely decorated room off the outside dining area. The room was clean but dark with small windows but the double bed was comfortable and there was hanging space for clothes. A small shower-room was adjacent through a partition wall. There was no tea or coffee making facilities.
The restaurant is quite popular and quaint looks nice in the evening with candles but the food very mediocre. My husband ordered spaghetti bolognaise and he was given just spaghetti with tomatoes source as they said they had run out of meat!
They do have a roof pool but it was too cold for us to use.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathisabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas Costa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Unusual, quaint, friendly. If you are looking for something a little out of the ordinary, this place fits the bill. We had an excellent meal there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMijasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimena de la Frontera
7.8 mi away
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Complejo Turistico Castillo Cast...
#2 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
135 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Henrietta
Hotel Casa Henrietta
#1 of 5 in Jimena de la Frontera
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posada Rural La Casa Grande
Posada Rural La Casa Grande
#5 of 5 in Jimena de la Frontera
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Estanque y El Almendro
El Estanque y El Almendro
#1 of 8 in Jimena de la Frontera
18 reviews
4.1 mi away
El Diplomatico Feo
El Diplomatico Feo
#1 of 1 in San Pablo de Buceite
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Anon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Anon

Property: Hostal El Anon
Address: Calle Consuelo 36 | Cádiz, 11330 Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Jimena de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jimena de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half an hour from the coast the popular village of Jimena de la Frontera is wrapped around a hillside which overlooks farmland, forest and Gibraltar 40 kms away. With a nearby train link to the famous cities of Ronda and Granada, this White Village is an ideal vacation centre perfect for biking, hiking and bird watching. In the centre of this typical cobbled village Hostal El Anon has been providing hospitality for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal El Anon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Anon cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing