We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cherry Blossom Time!”
Review of Fyvie Castle

Fyvie Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.41*
and up
Battle of Bannockburn Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
More Info
$32.75*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Fyvie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The charm of Fyvie ranges from its 13th-century origins to its stunning Edwardian interiors. The castle is home to a superb collection of arms, armour and paintings, including works by Raeburn and Gainsborough. Stroll around the picturesque loch, or visit the restored 1903 racquet court and bowling alley. Ghosts, legends and folklore are all woven into the tapestry of Fyvie Castle's 800-year history. Tradition claims that the castle's five successive families - Preston, Meldrum, Seton, Gordon and Forbes-Leith - each added a tower to this magnificent Scottish Baronial fortress. You can see their influences today among the medieval stones and the lavish Edwardian interiors, and imagine what castle life must have been like for the families and their royal guests - among them Robert the Bruce, Edward I and Charles I.
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cherry Blossom Time!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

May Day Monday gave us a perfect opportunity to visit our favourite Aberdeenshire castle - a beautiful sight of cherry trees in the car park after a short drive along the lakeside - no sign of the heavy weed on the water, just clean water for the swans, heron and ducks - walked round the lake to enjoy the drifts of wild flowers out in bloom as well as the varied trees and shrubs - sunshine with clear blue skies added to the morning - looked forward to lunch but not open to 12.00 pm so maybe next time! Fyvie Castle is well worth a visit at any time of the year! As National Trust members we try to visit a great many of the Trust's properties each year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    52
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Castle”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were here for a wedding, and the location could not have been more perfect. The grounds are well maintained and impressive as is the castle itself. I can't wait to return to see it properly as a visitor rather than a wedding guest. My understanding is the tour is well worth doing as the guides are knowledgable, but more important interesting. As a wedding location it was absolutely fantastic and the photos look amazing. You really have to drive to get there because of its location, but I think it is worth making the effort if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guides”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The castle with it's interesting rooms, fine tapestries and paintings is one of the best properties of it's kind we have visited. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. The whole estate is magnificent and well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great castle”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

An excellent castle with large rooms teeming with tapestries, paintings, furniture and weapons. The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. The grounds are well maintained, with a loch and walks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExiledYorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, SW Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We took the afternoon out during a business trip to visit the castle while we were in the area - and couldn't have been more impressed!

Everything about the castle is fabulous - from the drive through the grounds to the car park, to the gardens, the castle and the tour guides.

We arrived late afternoon so were the last visitors of the day but were shown around by a lovely friendly and knowledgeable tour guide who made our visit really enjoyable and was able to answer all our questions.

The furnishings, artwork, artifacts and ornaments in this castle are absolutely outstanding. The rooms are packed with beautiful things and there is so much to see and learn about that it's hard to take it all in. The castle is steeped in history and has such a wonderful authentic atmosphere that it really takes you back in time and brings the past to life.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to sample the tea room or walk around the gardens but we will definitely return next year if we're in the area again.

The only slight downside was feeling rather pressured to purchase tickets to visit other attractions and it was difficult to make it clear that it wasn't appropriate for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fyvie Castle also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Fyvie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing