We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 4:15 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
182
58
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
58
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden tea room guided tour national trust for scotland well worth a visit sat nav self guided ghost stories fascinating history interesting rooms wedding venue extensive grounds cake soup grounds are lovely great tour car park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are National Trust members and have visited Fyvie Castle many times, and in different seasons of the year.
It never fails to impress us and there's always something new to hear about from the friendly and informative guides.

The grounds, with a large lake complete with swans and various other birdlife, is beautiful throughout the year.

The garden is very productive and fruit and veg ,used to prepare meals in the tearoom, is also usually available to buy.
If you are in the area you simply MUST visit Fyvie Castle.

Thank mandsspackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great afternoon here and a great tour round the castle by National Trust guide Barrie. Steeped in history and wonderful tales we fascinated throughout (even the kids were quiet).

Wish we had come for longer and got round the grounds before it went dark.

Easy to find and as a National trust member cost us nothing.

I understand now why this is Prince Charles favourite castle.

Thank andrewpC4630RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our visit to this beautiful castle was fantastic and even our children (8 & 11 ) commented on how great it was.
The guided tour was very informative and also well presented by our guide and the story of this wonderful castle and its history is fascinating.
Me and my wife have visited several castles beforehand but this is by far the best yet.
The castle cafe is definitely worth a visit the food we ordered was fresh, well proportioned and scrumptious.

Thank andyfern2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

it has a lovely walled castle with huge flower beds, it also sells fresh produce. it has a cosy tearoom with old fireplace. the place itself looks really impressive. it belonged to an American family who had made their fortune with steel. it was sold to the NTS in 1985. this was the best guided tour we have ever done. fireplace with Delft blue tiles and a Tiffany lamp to name a few highlights. loved the glass- and table ware. very interesting and a lively telling guide.

Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

We so enjoyed our visit to this beautiful castle - the grounds are picturesque and we were happy to find picnic tables where we could sit enjoying the sunshine on such a beautiful day! We watched the swans and nine signets as they preened and then swam off on the water which was so calm that the reflection made a perfect picture! Then we took the tour which our guide made so interesting with his colourful tales of the owners over the centuries. The garden is also very interesting with many kind of fruits, flowers and vegetables! All in all it was a perfect day!

Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Went to visit Fyvie castle today, however because part of the grounds were being used for a car rally we were unable to use our cards to visit the castle and were expected to pay for parking even though our sticker was clearly displayed.We did explain that we had only come to visit the castle but we're told we must pay. So after an hour in the car to get there had a brief walk around the loch and went elsewhere.
Learn from our mistake, check carefully for events before you visit Fyvie as your national trust card is invalid on such days.

1  Thank TomRodger989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

My husband & I are members of the National Trust and decided to visit Fyvie Castle which is not far from our home. After parking we first visited the walled garden which is just beautiful, you can buy the fruit & vegetables they grow. Next was the castle which did not disappoint, our guide was excellent. The rooms they show have many original pieces. History is really interesting.

Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Arriving at the castle prior to opening allowed us to spend a little time in the gardens and grounds, we were treated to a personal tour with one of the guides, which I have to say was well worth it - there were four of us in the small group and I think it was most interesting - you must add this to your tour, the place is fascinating.

Thank Jim_Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Took friends here to see the history of the castle and hear about local legends . Was very informative, the guides know their stories . There was a lot to see with guides in all the rooms . A very enjoyable afternoon in this National trust castle
Entry was the usual price . Gift shop with all the usual things . Tea room was goo6

Thank reloader22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Lovely big castle with wide sweeping staircases and some really interesting rooms. A lot of them are quite standard but they're well furnished, and the music room is particularly striking, with huge organ pipes and beautifully decorated walls. It has a look of a chapel about it, and in fact is often used for weddings. Another interesting room, for rather more macabre reasons, is the one where a past laird apparently imprisoned his wife and starved her to death for not providing him with a male heir. Five daughters weren't good enough it seems.
The story of her ghostly return on his wedding night with his new bride is rather entertaining and you can see where she carved her name on the stone windowledge outside their bedroom. And it's this type of story, plus the various curses laid on the place over the years that make Fyvie really interesting. Do get the guides to tell you about them as they're more than willing to give you all the info.
I found all the guides really chatty and friendly and always ready to answer questions and give you extra details that you might not have found on the information sheets, so do chat with them.
Outside there's a lovely walled garden focussing on Scottish fruit and vegetables and you can see the gardeners at work on the various plants and flowers. It's very interesting.
There's a small cafe in the old kitchens but not a huge amount of choice, basically soup of the day, sandwiches and cake. I had a tuna sandwich and it was huge as you get two rounds of bread, plus salad and crisps, so it's not bad value for money.
All in all, definitely a castle worth visiting for a couple of hours.

Thank LaStorione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews