We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Residenza dei Cappuccini(Spello)(Great Value!)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Bed & Breakfast Villamena(Spello)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
251
213
69
51
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
213
69
51
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumbrian countrysidepastriestasty foodlovely hotelhotel is situatedcomfortable bedspectacular viewsterracevalleycyclingwardrobevillage
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 603 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We traveled to Assissi with a Globus tour (great by the way) and the hotel was in the nearby town of Spello. This was a lovely hotel in this mountain town in Italy, with spacious rooms, and our room had a patio overlooking the countryside, and under the olive trees. The room was clean, with European charm, and nice marble bathrooms with walk-in shower. The food in the dining room was excellent and so was the service. We would definitely go back to La Bastiglia.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

After reading a five page article in the german Magazine Geo Saison 2008, we decided to visit this place on our way down to Tuscany. We were excited to find a little peaceful place with apparently wonderful Umbrian cuisine, one of the three best in the region! But unfortunately everything was a great disappointment. From the unfriendly receptionist on the telephone while making the reservation to the reception when we arrived. The room was kind of ok, without anything more to say about. The diner was served by a sour and arrogant lady, who basically looked down on us, when we tried to ask about a good wine to accompany the diner. The pasta was boring and nothing to write home about and the main dishes so so la la. The praised cook never appeared and no one asked wheather the food was any good or wheather we were happy with our stay. We left first thing in the morning, glad to leave the place and wondering how a place like this can survive!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suentla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The only nice things about the hotel and its restaurant are its location and the great talent of its chef. Service is rude at the restaurant, the lady owner who often sits at the reception only speaks italian and the rooms need substantial renovation. Not to mention the fact that the bill is a hand written figure on an old piece of paper showing how fraud is the rule at this place. If you would go there it is for the restaurant (but beware of the service!).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I don’t recommend this hotel. It could not be considered as a four stars (4*) hotel.

We made a reservation in april 2009 for a family room (2 adults + 2 children) for 2 nights for august 2009.
When we arrived at the hotel, the team gave us a bedroom in the basement with a small window (it looked like a cavern) and there was plenty of mosquito’s & flies (inside the room). We complained to the team and the management and after discussion and arguing, it appeared that everybody knew about the bedroom’s problem but they refused to change our bedroom. As it was the night, there was no possibility to find an another hotel ….. Finally the day after, the accept to attribute us another bedroom for the second night ! When I paid, I asked for a discount and the room clerk gave us 20 Euros discount on a 300 euro’s bill.

The management was totally aware about this problem (mosquito’s and flies in a family bedroom is something related to public health) but it was totally absentee and they refused to propose us a solution !
This hotel could not be rated as a four star ! It’s a pity because spello is a very beautiful city as the Umbria countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BercyPAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel has a lot of potential - it's a beautiful building with great vistas. Our room opened onto a terrace which was very nice. The decor in the room was surprisingly ugly and shabby, as well as overpriced, and the breakfast was mediocre. If the owners chose to invest some money and fix it up, the would be a great hotel, but it was the onlyy place we stayed at in Italy where we felt that we did not get a good deal.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CA-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews