We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$150
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed & Breakfast Villamena(Spello)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
250
213
69
50
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
213
69
50
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumbrian countrysidepastriestasty foodlovely hotelhotel is situatedcomfortable bedspectacular viewsterracevalleycyclingwardrobevillage
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 601 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I don’t recommend this hotel. It could not be considered as a four stars (4*) hotel.

We made a reservation in april 2009 for a family room (2 adults + 2 children) for 2 nights for august 2009.
When we arrived at the hotel, the team gave us a bedroom in the basement with a small window (it looked like a cavern) and there was plenty of mosquito’s & flies (inside the room). We complained to the team and the management and after discussion and arguing, it appeared that everybody knew about the bedroom’s problem but they refused to change our bedroom. As it was the night, there was no possibility to find an another hotel ….. Finally the day after, the accept to attribute us another bedroom for the second night ! When I paid, I asked for a discount and the room clerk gave us 20 Euros discount on a 300 euro’s bill.

The management was totally aware about this problem (mosquito’s and flies in a family bedroom is something related to public health) but it was totally absentee and they refused to propose us a solution !
This hotel could not be rated as a four star ! It’s a pity because spello is a very beautiful city as the Umbria countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BercyPAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel has a lot of potential - it's a beautiful building with great vistas. Our room opened onto a terrace which was very nice. The decor in the room was surprisingly ugly and shabby, as well as overpriced, and the breakfast was mediocre. If the owners chose to invest some money and fix it up, the would be a great hotel, but it was the onlyy place we stayed at in Italy where we felt that we did not get a good deal.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CA-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Our room was average, the terrace was dirty (with dead plants and weeds, plus a blocked view of Umbria) and the highly recommended restaurant was very expensive for what was served. Plus many stairs for those of us over 65. I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

The view is spectacular, and the rooms were big with nice bathrooms and decent terrace. Food is very expensive at the Micheline Star rated restaurant. Much better dining available in Spello for the money (try the Drinking Wine Enoteca Wine Bar...fabulous)

The rooms had no air conditioning and the pool had no water in it when we arrived. We immediately asked to have this situation remediated but they kept saying "Maybe tomorrow". It never happened. The lady at the front desk was not very helpful with information on local attractions and activities nor with our a/c and pool situation.

We stayed in Italy for 16 days and all four of us felt that this hotel was the only one were we got "taken" as to the price and service. Spello itself proved to be one of our better stops in Italy...stayed for 3 nights unfortunately we stayed at the Basiglia which left a sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twincanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

La Bastiglia is located on the top of Spello town, so you have to be fairly mobile if you plan to walk into town and back. Bonus is that there's free parking next to the hotel (ask for a parking permit from reception).
Our room was big and clean, with doors that opened onto the shared terrace for a pretty view (if you ignored the pool with its pond water... but it was winter, no one was going to be using it). Small TV, writing desk with stationery, heated floor outside the bathroom, heated towel rack, enclosed shower over the bathtub.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, they printed out the train schedules for us and also gave us driving instructions to nearby towns.
The restaurant serves delightful (but expensive) meals, waiters were very pleasant and you got little extras with your meal (eg petits fours) - we ate there twice during our stay!
All in all, a tranquil location overlooking the Umbrian countryside, good rooms, with an excellent on-site restaurant. Cost was 100 Euros/night for a superior double room (Feb 2008).

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BluvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews