We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”
Review of Palazzo Bocci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Bocci
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“adequate”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our small room #206, described as a junior suite, was rather dreary. I concur with AnnFlorence there were small areas of up & down steps here & there; no big problem but, as there is no one to assist with the luggage, this is something to know about if you have a back problem. The "suite" consisted of a very small area with a desk and lounge chair on which you may wish to put your suitcase. There was, also, a patio with a table and two chairs.
Wifi was available in the public areas and cramped parking is available in an outdoor public area right across the street from the hotel entrance. Our room faced the street, but there was no discernible street noise to which we would have been very sensitive. Breakfast was a satisfying selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, cakes and breads.
The young woman at reception was less than helpful when asked about the restaurant, which I mistakenly thought was on the premises. I asked about reservations at Il Molino, apparently owned by the same family. She shrugged and told me they probably opened at 7:30. I walked over to make a reservation and we enjoyed a nicer experience there than at Palazzo Bocci.
Palazzo Bocci was a convenient choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
39
119
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This property is simply beautiful. It was obviously lovingly restored. The fresco paintings in the main room and the detail painting in all the rooms are quite lovely. There is a charming garden space with views over the countryside. Many rooms have views as well. The breakfast is quite substantial and elegant. Best of all, it's located in the heart of Spello, allowing you to simply walk out the door to begin to explore. And it's mere steps away from great restaurants, sights, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice; if there is one drawback it was in the extra steps that we had to face once we were in our room - 7 down into the room (no handrailing which can be a problem) and another three up to the bathroom where there were still two to go down. In other words, avoid room #103 unless you don't mind the exercise. The best feature is the location which is right in the middle of town on the one main street that runs through it, top to bottom. This meant that there was considerable choice of restaurants or wine bars or whatever we were in the mood for after long days of touring Umbria. Spello, incidentally, is well placed for just that - whether it be to make a circle around the edge - Assisi, Perugia, Todi and Spoleto - or to head over the hills into Le Marche for a quick look at a different world. To be avoided, in any event, is the Umbrian plain which has been so badly given over to cement in the past few decades.

Room Tip: Avoid #103 ! Ask for one on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rooms at Palazzo Bocci vary in size and we enjoyed a larger room with a separate sitting area on the ground level. The hotel is located in a convenient location. Staff was cordial and helpful. The bathroom was spacious with a tub/shower combination. There were abundant electrical outlets to charge phones, computers, and electronic travel aids. Good quality sheets and extra pillows were provided.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Request a larger room with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spello is one of those delightful hill towns which is not totally ignored by tourists but not swamped by them either. There are plenty of restaurants for lunchtime and evening meals so the bed and breakfast facilities offered by Palazzo Bocci are all that are required. We stayed for five nights and had a wonderful time. The owner is present most of the time, speaks good English and really could not have been more helpful. Our room was well equipped and faced over the valley plain (albeit that the main road went through it although traffic noise was barely noticeable), was quiet and cool. The main lounge for residents' use on the first floor (where wi-fi was available and free) was the beautifully decorated "salon" of the palace whilst the usual but good continental breakfast was served in two smaller ground floor rooms. Parking for hotel guests is in a small public car park (with a pass provided by the hotel) opposite and is a rare bonus for hill town hotels and there is an outside seating area at the back of the hotel for guests' use.Yes, I would stay again and, yes, I'd recommend it to others

Room Tip: It was not busy when we stayed but I suspect that the rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Palazzo Bocci was alright, but I can't see what all the hype is about. This place is mentioned in all the guide-books and is a top hotel here on TA, but I was not impressed. The house is beautiful, sure, but not more so than any other house in this picturesque village. The room was small, the bathroom was tiny but clean, the view was lovely, the staff mildly uninterested, parking is a shambles, etc. Highs and lows, but all things considered you're probably better off picking a cheaper and less well known hotel - spend the money you save on some of that amazing Spello Olive Oil!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagrantino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We took the train to Spello from Cortona, easy trip. Walked up the hill, not a hard climb, to the hotel. We were early but they immediately made us feel welcomed and checked with housekeeping to find our room ready, nice surprise. The location is great, the staff helpful and friendly, breakfast on the patio a special treat, and our room and view lovely. Plan to bring some friends next month when they visit us from the states.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loisshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
0.4 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 10 in Spello
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 10 in Spello
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
830 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
17.6 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bocci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bocci

Property: Palazzo Bocci
Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 17, 06038 Spello, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bocci 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Bocci, which opened as a hotel in 1992, has paintings by Benvenuto Crispoldi and an architectural style that is enlivened by in-between floors, split-levels and niches. The building offers its guests surroundings and rooms that evoke an atmosphere of rare beauty, such as the fountain at the entrance, the hanging garden with two century-old palm trees, the spectacular Hall of Frescoes, the rooms, the luxurious suites, plus views and hidden corners that the Hotel Palazzo Bocci jealously preserves as if they were a treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Bocci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bocci Spello
Palazzo Bocci Hotel Spello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing