We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty lunch on a hot day”

Ristorante Porta Venere
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch on a hot day”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We dropped in without booking and were seated on the balcony with lovely views of the valley. Service was good and the food excellent. Antipasti to start was great followed by excellent pasta main courses and the vino di tavola was superb.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    219
    35
    26
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed, expected better”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Three of us had lunch here on the terrace. Pleasant view, nice ambiance and an interesting menu. We had three primi and I had a secondo to follow. First impressions of the primi were good flavours but small portions. The pasta with wild boar was excellent, the stuffed pasta (cappallaci) were good, and the pasta with 'guanciale' and walnuts ok but salty. Unfortunately, my steak with truffles was a real let down. Despite the shavings of a whole black truffle, the truffle flavour was inert, dead, absent. The steak was fine. A little small perhaps but tender. I spoke to someone I took to be the front of house manager at the end of the meal and conveyed my disappointment, I had expected a very strong flavour. He produced a handful of truffles and explained that at this time of the year, truffles don't have much flavour. Well, I couldn't buy into that entirely as I have had truffle dishes before in June and July in Cortona, Perugia and elsewhere and never been let down by the flavour. We paid the bill shortly after and left, with not another word exchanged.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_magari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Refined Dining in Spello”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Excellent Umbrian and Tuscan fare with a great sunset view from their terrace tables. Refined dining with an emphasis in local ingredients and wine. Friendly staff are happy to assist non-Italian speakers but the menu can be navigated with a basic Italian food vocabulary.  The rabbit and veal dishes are highly recommended. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent a week in Spello and had 2 fantastic dinners at Porta Venere. The dining room is beautiful and a combination of rustic Umbrian charm and modern elegance. The owner Marco tends to every detail from the table settings to the wine list. He welcomes his guests and shares his passion for his restaurant and the delicious food. We sat on the terrace both nights and enjoyed the views of the valley below.

The main attraction is the food... we had the stuffed zucchini flowers which were delicious, and the zucchini flan which was equally as good. Filets with balsamic reduction and also with Sagrantino wine sauce. You can't leave without having dessert... The warm chocolate cake, with a hint of coconut in a molten chocolate center served with vanilla gelato was the best dessert we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. Enjoy with a glass of the Sagrantino Passito wine.

There are many fine restaurants in Spello, but this one for many reasons was our favorite!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank psgmartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Todi, Umbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quite refined... and quite a find”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Quite an elegant little restaurant this, both in terms of decor and food, tucked away down a side street just off the main drag in one of Umbria's prettiest towns.
We ate zucchini flowers stuffed with black rice on a bed of Mornay sauce, pasta with fava beans and saffron and rabbit with lemon and capers.
The room has great character with brick-vaulted and wood-beamed ceilings and a few touches of bling to zazz it up. There's a delightful terrace too. The staff were professional and, at around €35/head, the meal was good value, bearing in mind its a couple of notches above traditional Umbrian trattoria fare.
Not the easiest restaurant to find, but its worth seeking it out.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frutti-D-Bosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Porta Venere also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Porta Venere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing