We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of ibis Baar Zug

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Baar Zug
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Grate value for money.
Location is great.
Staff is very good.
If you want to plan switzerland and want to Visit Luzern, Zurich then this is the best location.
Best part is the hotel is very good, cheaper and almost on the station.
Connectivity of trains with Zug, Luzern, Zurich is great. So its better to stay and roam in Swiss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahanbharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    146
    76
    16
    5
See reviews for
67
66
27
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

In the country where the word expensive has been turned into an art form this is a good value, very clean hotel. Basic but has everything. Nervously close to the station so stay in odd number rooms that face away from the square (bus station) and train station. Free wi fi. Go to the bakery next door for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna A, General Manager at ibis Baar Zug, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on trip advisor.

We are very appreciate about your positive comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Baar / Zug. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our Ibis in Baar.
Sincerely,
Your Ibis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel has a great location for anybody who wants to travel by train in Switzerland, since it is located a few steps away from the train station. There is a bakery next door with wonderful food, coffee and an amazing service on location and for to go items. Other shops nearby: Coop (grocery store), a pharmacy and Interdiscount (electronics and gadgets). Multiple restaurants are in walking distance and there are many more in Zug, a short train or bus ride away.
The staff is very friendly and instantly responded to our requests. The rooms have air conditioning, which is not a given in Swiss hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne3pommes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night while travelling through Switzerland.
The location is certainly central being close to the bus terminal and opposite the train station
This is pretty much a regular Ibis budget hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was very average which was disappointing given that the hotel was running a breakfast promotion at the time aimed at local people.
You would think that if they were promoting a service then they would at least make it a little bit special.
I have never seen electrical power outlets, with odd shaped recesses, like those in this hotel which will not accept regular European plugs. You have to pay a deposit to get adaptors from reception.
The adaptor kept falling out of the socket due to me having to use another adaptor to convert my Australian plug on my electric shaver which also doubles as a transformer. Too many bits for the loose fitting adaptor to support.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

All in all an excellent hotel, slightly more expensive than normal Ibis hotels but friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22david55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stopped for a few days two weeks ago, and just stopped for another six days this week and very impressed. Top plus for me is the location, right opposite the train station, perfect! Great parking too, free wi-fi with excellent signal, staff friendly and helpful. Front rooms can get a lot of noise from the train station and the square, back rooms are much quieter. Much better than the other hotels in the area. A bit like every other Ibis hotel, but then you get what you pay for and this is a chain and priced very well for the area, recommneded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the front rooms get noise from train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A well priced hotel for Switzerland. Very convenient next to the railway station. Rooms very compact and comfortable. Everything was clean and new. The only problem was that facing on the square can get noisy at night.
There are places to eat for breakfast if you do not want to use the hotel. The best value for money was the restaurant at the coop next door. There is also a bakers and a coffee shop close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baar
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
2.0 mi away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
City Garden Hotel
1.6 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#4 of 8 in Zug
207 reviews
2.0 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Baar Zug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Baar Zug

Property: ibis Baar Zug
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 15, Baar 6340, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Baar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Baar Zug 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non smoking Ibis Baar Zug is ideally located opposite the railway station and is easily accessible from the A4a highway. Book one of our 66 comfortable airconditioned rooms with cable TV and benefit from the hotel facilities on offer, including a bar serving light meals 24 hours a day and a terrace area. Business guests will appreciate the use of wireless broadband internet access. There is public undercover pay parking within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your ibis Baar Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Baar Zug Hotel Baar
Accor Baar Zug

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing