We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostess, Hotel and Restaurant”
Review of Le Gue du Holme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Gue du Holme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On arrival The Proprietor Aline made us feel welcome and valued, cutting a phone call short in order to attend to us. The room was clean, bright and had a view over the quiet garden. The restaurant was fantastic. Together with my partner we were celebrating my 60th birthday. Again Aline gave us her personal attention and her husband, Dany, the chef cooked a superb meal. This was a memorable occasion. Breakfast was also exemplary and came with a complimentary present of a bottle of Normandy Cider - how thoughtful! The whole experience was Super Bon! Super Bien! Thank you Aline and Dany we will return for a longer stay in your excellent Hotel. À bientôt.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room if you like peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideal for couples & families. Very quiet and peaceful hotel with nice garden. The hotel is very clean and staff very welcoming. Breakfast costs 11€ and was good with omelette, bacon, bread, butter, croissant & pain au chocolat, fruits, yogurt, muesli, ham, fresh orange juice and coffee/tea.

The restaurant is really nice with fine cuisine.

You can also go to eat in the nearby city "Avranches" which has a couple of good restaurants like "Le littré"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at a B&B near here a few years ago, so decided to go back to the village for this stay, and booked the hotel. The rooms are very tastefully furnished, clean and well provided. We had a room that overlooked the garden. The late afternoon beer in the sunny garden and breakfast before we left was lovely. We ate in the restuarant and had the 38 euro set menu. Very tasty and filling. Only ten minutes of the main road and definitely worth the drop off to go and stay rather than the nearby chain hotels.

The hotel is opposite a church and so the bells can be heard in the morning, but we did not find them too obtrusive. Try to get a room overlooking the garden, and they are not as loud.

Room Tip: Asl for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our room was nicely decorated & overlooked the garden & terrace. The bed was large & comfortable. There was a small bathroom with separate toilet. The shower was hot although you had to adjust the temp with the taps. We had a meal that night on the terrace. I had langoustine to start & my husband had oysters. This was followed by steak which was cooked to perfection. My husband had cod in a red pepper sauce. He said it was fantastic. The sweets were also yummy. And all washed down with an excellent Beaujolais . Wine a tad overpriced but that seems to be the norm in hotels.
Next morn we had breakfast on the terrace.. It was one of the best I've had in France. Eggs cooked to order with thin bacon . Then the usual fruit , croissants, bread & lovely coffee.
The staff were very efficient & friendly. Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ours had a floor to ceiling window which opened to give a view of garden & terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloveromagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I travel a lot for business and all too often, holiday hotels fall short of the standards and facilities I am used to. This hotel was an exception. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are also large and clean. The owner could not have been more helpful- giving directions for day trips and restaurant recommendations when the hotel one was closed. Even then on one night, when we did not want to drive, she put together a simple but delicious meal for the 3 of us- and it was one of the nicest we had during our 2 week trip. The breakfast is also good- probably the best I've had in a French hotel. Our rooms were also made available to us long before the advertised check in time.

My only niggle was that there was no english tv channel. Its a very small point, but its nice to watch the news so even BBC World or CNN would be good. If they rectify that then this place gets 10/10- as it is I still highly recommend it and I hope we can go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoula68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this hotel by pure chance as it was near Avranches for the start of the Tour de France 2013. It turned out to be on the actual route!

What a lovely hotel and garden and you can eat outside in the garden if the weather is good enough and it was.

We had no idea that the restaurant would be as good as it was in a 3 star hotel. The best meal that we had while we were on holiday in France and excellent service. We will definitely be going back as it is a good place to stop off before or after the Cherbourg ferry.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden or a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizStallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Aline and Dany Pignot at Le Gue du Holme. Aline greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel so at home. (She was very kind to converse with me in French, which I haven't used for 40+, even though she spoke excellent English.) Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely view of the back garden. The dinner prepared for us in the cozy diningroom was absolutely fabulous, finished off with the most amazing Crepes Suzettes prepared at our table by Aline. Merci, merci, merci beaucoup!!! They were out of this world! It is a great location for anyone visiting Mont Saint Michel, which we did, as it was only a short car trip away. We understand that the Tour de France goes right by their front door too! Breakfast was very nice in the morning....the eggs were cooked to order! Once again, Aline was taking care of us. I don't think this woman every sleeps!!! She was the consumate hostess and we would highly suggest this restaurant/hotel to anyone fortunate enough to be traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
2.1 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
2.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
230 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
491 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#3 of 5 in Avranches
232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de La Selune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gue du Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gue du Holme

Address: 14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Gue du Holme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gue du Holme is an hotel with 10 rooms and gastronomic restaurant. It is located in Saint-Quentin sur le Homme near Mont-Saint-Michel. The rooms are confortable and fully equipped with television, privative bathroom & WC and free Wifi. During your stay in our hotel, you will discover beaches of landings, the fabulous Mont-Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo… You will savor a local French « cuisine » in our restaurant with our large choice of menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Gue du Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing