We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure to stay at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gue du Holme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Gue du Holme
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here while on a 6 week tour of France as it was close to Mont St Michel. It was a pleasure to stay at, a peaceful village and not far from the bustle of Mont St Michel. The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. As their restaurant was closed for the evening, they recommended a delightful alternative in a nearby village. Parking was on site.We have no trouble with recommending this hotel . Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
151
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a four night stay here in late August as a mini holiday before getting the ferry back to Ireland after a road trip to Germany.

The hotel is in a small quiet rural village, which may not suit everyone, but it is well positioned for visiting Mont St Michel, St. Malo and numerous lovely Normandy towns and villages.

It is a family run business as mentioned in some of the other reviews, and the owners are truly hospitable and helpful people.

Our bedroom was most comfortable. Yes, both bedroom and bathroom are on the small side, but fine for a few days' stay.

The restaurant is a real highlight, and I can only echo the other positive reviews in relation to the food, service and value for money. Superb.

Breakfast is also excellent, with the emphasis on quality local products.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best experiences we had in France. The restaurant was first rate, the service terrific, and the rooms large an comfortable. IT was an easy drive to Le Mont St. Michel, and we wish we could have spent more time at this hotel and eaten more than one meal. A terrific place, and they went out of their way to handle our places. Definitely five stars to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Le Gue du Holme is a hidden gem & cerainly worth a visit. After a hectic day at Mont St Michel we enjoyed a lovely stay with a truely beautiful meal in the hotels restaurant. Rooms are well presented & yes as previous reviews state the bathrooms are on the small size but very clean & more than adequate for an overnight stay. The key for me however was in the service, staff are friendly & very helpful with all requests / questions. The restaurant is also very very good & we enjoyed a beautifully presented 4 course menu for 36 euros which I would of happily paid double for. The food was fresh with great flavours, prawns followed by fab Seabass, cheese & a melt in the middle chocolate pudding all with excellent service & a decent bottle of Loire red wine. We did hear the church bells (briefly) but I'd recommend a glass of Calvados Brandy to ease! Breakfast is again well presented with plenty of choice & a warm welcome. We would certainly advise a night at the Le Gue du Holme, a small family run hotel with excellent standards, good food & a view of Mont St Michel!! We'll certainly be returning next year which is always a good recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from the owner and our room was very clean and nicely decorated with a pleasant view over the garden. We unfortunately stayed when the restaurant was closed. However the owners assistance in booking us into another local restaurant was excellent. The owners could not have been more helpful, they genuinely care about their guests and the hotel.

We thought the hotel was extremly good value and we will go back next time we are in the area and look forward to trying the restaurant. We will be recommending Le Gue du Holme to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday evening - restaurant closed. Bathroom/toilet extremely cramped - could do with "updating". Bedroom exactly as in pictures of hotel. Nice balcony overlooking garden - receptionist warned us about the church bells ringing at 7.00am on Monday morning which they did (the church is across the road from the hotel) bells rang for 5 minutes and again every hour so no more sleep after a long drive from Spain. Felt hotel overpriced in comparison with others in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisFHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A convenient stopping place on the way to Brittany or the South West, we have been staying at the Gué du Holme and enjoying their excellent cuisine for a number of years. Monsieur & Madame Pignot who now run the hotel, are very welcoming and their restaurant, with its warm winter and airy summer dining rooms, is elegant and relaxing.

The menus are imaginative, fresh and rely on high-quality fish, meat, vegetables and fruit from local producers. The service is friendly and attentive. On our last visit, we had a particularly delicious langoustine risotto followed by sea bass. The rosace de fraises and glace vanille dessert was light, refreshing and a perfect end to an excellent meal.

Our last visit was on August 22nd and was, as usual, a real treat.

Room Tip: This is a small, family run hotel. All the rooms are carpeted, so quiet and face the garden. The re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.2 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
3.1 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de La Selune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gue du Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gue du Holme

Property: Le Gue du Holme
Address: 14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Gue du Holme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gue du Holme is an hotel with 10 rooms and gastronomic restaurant. It is located in Saint-Quentin sur le Homme near Mont-Saint-Michel. The rooms are confortable and fully equipped with television, privative bathroom & WC and free Wifi. During your stay in our hotel, you will discover beaches of landings, the fabulous Mont-Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo… You will savor a local French « cuisine » in our restaurant with our large choice of menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Gue du Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing