We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely apartment from which to explore the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aups, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carole L
1 review
“A lovely apartment from which to explore the surrounding countryside, lake and Gorges.”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

A very well equipped charming apartment to use as a base for a lovely holiday. The owners are friendly and helpful and the local rose wine they introduced us to - excellent!! We found the apartment had everything we needed, including washing machine and dishwasher and our own outside space and lovely shared pool. We will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you rosé travelled well! Looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Holiday/minimoon/friends wedding stay at le diamanté noir.”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Thank you to Sandra and Colin for a lovely stay at le diamonte noir. We were welcomed by Colin on arrival who showed us our gite, the pool and gave us lots of ideas of places to visit during our stay, there were also lots of restaurant ideas and information leaflets of places to visit. The location is fab as it's just opposite the supermarket and about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Aups so that we could walk to our friends wedding and not worry about having a rose or 4 . It's also close to the gorges du verdon which is beautiful and you can pedalo/kayak here. Their is a BBQ and all the cooking utensils you need at the gite if you fancy a night in plus supplies such as tea and coffee ☕️ on arrival. We were also welcomed with a bottle of rose from Sandra and Colin which was lovely. Literally only 4* as no air conditioning and we were bitten by Mosquitos a lot, although there is a fan and we did find anti mosquito spray in the cupboard at the end of our stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Appreciate your comments and apologise for the mosquitoes. It has been a bad season for mosquitoes, and the hottest summer for years, but beyond our control. We have found that the mosquito spirals provided, are the best deterrent .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanc0ste...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday - would highly recommend”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Can't praise this enough. We had a fantastic time, the accommodation was of extremely high quality and the owners are very hospitable with excellent recommendations for vists and restaurants. Aups itself is a beautiful town.

We had a great time and would recommend to everyone as a brilliant summer vacation. I imagine it would also be great in the winter as it's a very pretty place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Aups is a lovely place, very special to us. The region is beautiful, and the season extends well into the Autumn, when the oak forests, change to golden and russet colours. Then, as always, a trip around the Gorges Du Verdon is spectacular.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelang...
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice small well equipped gite”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were welcomed kindly by Colin who showed us to our accommodation. It is small, but has all you need, including a washing machine and dish washer. The bed is comfortable , and it is a short walk from the veranda to the pool where we enjoyed swimming ( if mosquitos like you, as they do me, bring insect repellent! But of course this is not just down to this gite, and no doubt you may be bitten wherever you go in the area. My husband did not get bitten at all!) ) we didn't get sun on our little sitting out area, at least when we were actually there and not out and about. Also it is worth noting that when outside we could hear the traffic on the quite busy road outside the gate. We could not hear it when we were indoors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the equipment provided. We are sorry that you had trouble with mosquitoes. Like many holiday destinations, the South of France has its mosquito population.
Just to clarify for the benefit of other guests- the apartment is 34m2, The French Meuble de Tourisme grading system lays down certain requirements, including ratio of living space to guests. This apartment meets the standard of a 4* grading in this respect, and also in terms of its equipment and quality of furnishings and services provided. The apartment is South facing and its garden is sunny for several hours during the day. There is a covered shady terrace, which can also be used if it is raining. The garden has shade provided by a parasol and the hedge, which also gives privacy. Aups is a very popular tourist destination and market town. There is traffic noise during working hours, especially on market days, due to its popularity.
Outside of working hours, particularly in the evenings the road is very quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful, relaxing”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed in one of the geets, perfect for my partner and I and our young daughter. Shared some local wine with the hosts one evening which made us feel very welcome. Would stay here again if I was in the local area.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovesuns...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Self Catering Accomodation.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our second visit to Le Genevrier. Every comfort and facility has been provided in this very well appointed apartment on the outskirts of the town of Aups. We used the property as a base for exploring the local area by bicycle, on foot and by car. The Verdon Gorge is easily accessible and the towns and villages near Aups are delightful to visit. The hosts at Le Genevrier provide a warm welcome and have an abundance of local knowledge to share, however, you always feel self contained and independent whilst residing in this very comfortable and pleasant gite. Shopping at the local supermarket and weekly market in Aups is convenient and the welcome goods and gift make arriving at Le Genevrier a joy. The garden and pool at this location are restful, tranquil and well cared for. This accomodation is highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious and comfortable accomodation, welcoming hosts, clean calm and relaxing environment.
Liked least: Nothing to report this section. This accomodation is excellent!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOFF D
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect base for exploring Haut Provence”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second visit. This gite is not in the middle of the countryside, it is on the outskirts of a lovely town. Consequently it has all the conveniences of being near the town with a superb market, good restaurants, interesting shops and historical architecture. The gite has everything you need and benefits from exceptional hosts. Aups is an excellent base for exploring and the hosts are a very useful mine of information. All in all a grest place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the pool
Liked least: Sometimes noisy in early morning (deliveries)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;