We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice small well equipped gite”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aups, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
travelang...
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice small well equipped gite”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were welcomed kindly by Colin who showed us to our accommodation. It is small, but has all you need, including a washing machine and dish washer. The bed is comfortable , and it is a short walk from the veranda to the pool where we enjoyed swimming ( if mosquitos like you, as they do me, bring insect repellent! But of course this is not just down to this gite, and no doubt you may be bitten wherever you go in the area. My husband did not get bitten at all!) ) we didn't get sun on our little sitting out area, at least when we were actually there and not out and about. Also it is worth noting that when outside we could hear the traffic on the quite busy road outside the gate. We could not hear it when we were indoors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the equipment provided. We are sorry that you had trouble with mosquitoes. Like many holiday destinations, the South of France has its mosquito population.
Just to clarify for the benefit of other guests- the apartment is 34m2, The French Meuble de Tourisme grading system lays down certain requirements, including ratio of living space to guests. This apartment meets the standard of a 4* grading in this respect, and also in terms of its equipment and quality of furnishings and services provided. The apartment is South facing and its garden is sunny for several hours during the day. There is a covered shady terrace, which can also be used if it is raining. The garden has shade provided by a parasol and the hedge, which also gives privacy. Aups is a very popular tourist destination and market town. There is traffic noise during working hours, especially on market days, due to its popularity.
Outside of working hours, particularly in the evenings the road is very quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful, relaxing”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed in one of the geets, perfect for my partner and I and our young daughter. Shared some local wine with the hosts one evening which made us feel very welcome. Would stay here again if I was in the local area.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovesuns...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Self Catering Accomodation.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our second visit to Le Genevrier. Every comfort and facility has been provided in this very well appointed apartment on the outskirts of the town of Aups. We used the property as a base for exploring the local area by bicycle, on foot and by car. The Verdon Gorge is easily accessible and the towns and villages near Aups are delightful to visit. The hosts at Le Genevrier provide a warm welcome and have an abundance of local knowledge to share, however, you always feel self contained and independent whilst residing in this very comfortable and pleasant gite. Shopping at the local supermarket and weekly market in Aups is convenient and the welcome goods and gift make arriving at Le Genevrier a joy. The garden and pool at this location are restful, tranquil and well cared for. This accomodation is highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious and comfortable accomodation, welcoming hosts, clean calm and relaxing environment.
Liked least: Nothing to report this section. This accomodation is excellent!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOFF D
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect base for exploring Haut Provence”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second visit. This gite is not in the middle of the countryside, it is on the outskirts of a lovely town. Consequently it has all the conveniences of being near the town with a superb market, good restaurants, interesting shops and historical architecture. The gite has everything you need and benefits from exceptional hosts. Aups is an excellent base for exploring and the hosts are a very useful mine of information. All in all a grest place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the pool
Liked least: Sometimes noisy in early morning (deliveries)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulWGC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, and a great base for exploring the region”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a super stay at this friendly and professionally run little rental. The hosts are excellent - very friendly, full of ideas about the local region, and efficient in their communications both before and after the stay.

The property is an ideal size for a couple - useful sized kitchen, nice outdoor space, a good bedroom / bathroom, and all the household items you could possibly want to make the stay hassle-free. It's all very clean and tidy on arrival, and is maintained to excellent standards. The provision of all the basic household items is an excellent approach by the owners, and makes the stay easier and cheaper. The supermarket across the road is great too, as is the communal pool and sun-lounger area within the property.

Aups itself is a solid location to be based in for exploring the Var region. It's within 25 mins of the Verdon Gorges, and all the beautiful hill villages are close too. You will need a car, but the exploring is easy. Don't miss out Aups itself too - pretty and lively village with good places to eat and drink and some lovely old streets and little shops - without being overly twee and touristy. It's a 15 min walk to town from the property, so leave the car behind and tuck into the excellent local rose. The Restaurant Des Gourmets is the pick of the town for dinner.

The only slight downside to the property is some noise from the main road, which is a little closer than ideal. It can make early nights / lie ins a little bit tricky, as there is a fair amount of traffic passing. To be fair to the owners, this is flagged on their website, so it shouldn't surprise anyone on arrival. It also means that lazing by the pool has a fair bit of background traffic noise, so if your plan is just to lie around in the sun, perhaps look for other options. But as a base for exploring and having your own little place in Provence (at least for a few days), this is an absolute delight and I'd have no hesitation in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRWright
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in an outstanding region.”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great week at Le Genevrier, lots of beautiful scenery and hilltop villages to explore. The Gorges du Verdon and lake are brilliant, we've never seen water so blue! We especially liked the pool, whilst Colin and Sandra were excellent hosts. Aups is a 15 minute walk away with a decent choice of restaurants but Tourtour is a really good alternative for a meal, as is Cotignac. The waterfall at Sillans is also worth a visit.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanidoo
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second helpings”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having stayed at this property last year, we wanted to return . Colin and Sandra are such good hosts. There if you need them , but not intrusive. We can recommend the BBQ night, terrific food and lots of wine. If you like wine, then the wine tasting is a must. This is a chance to a chance to sample around 6 different wine, all locally produced, but not a selling event. There are nibbles to go with the wine and then,just when you think you are getting a little light headed, food appears , which is delightful. We have now stayed in both 1 bedroom Gites and liked them both, very comfortable beds and pillows. Crisp clean white bed linen makes for a great night sleep. Very well equipped kitchen, everything you can think of to cook with, including a blender! Le Truffiere has a large double bed which we prefer, and the terrace is lovely. Genevrier has more spacious living area, and the terrace is conveniently opposite the pool. Either place would not disappoint. This property is on the main road, and although you can hear the traffic, this does not detract from the lovely surroundings, and did not put us off. You cannot see the road from the accommodation which is behind a lot of hedges, and electric security gate. Ideally opposite a great supermarket, which is handy.
Aups is a great Town about 10 minutes walk away, several good restaurants and interesting shops and superb market. This location is great to visit the surrounding area, even a trip to the coast is only an hour away.
We flew in from Nice airport which is about 1 & 1/2 hours away, easy journey, and Colin does not mind waiting up for your arrival.
Take advantage of the frozen food available that Sandra prepares, we have hade a meal each time for the first night we arrived and would recommend.
If you request, Sandra will do some shopping for you, so if you are arriving late at night, it is worth asking for the basics so that you have breakfast. There is a good stock of coffee, tea and sugar, and a lovely welcome gift, of crostini and wine.
We will definitely return, lovely relaxing holiday, with everything that we needed, even fantastic weather. A very big thank you to Colin and Sandra for creating such a perfect holiday home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing