We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic french hotel and town”
Review of Auberge de la Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Tour
Ranked #2 of 6 Aups B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Auberge de La Tour for 4 nights in September. It was a very reasonably priced hotel with somewhat basic rooms but nevertheless clean and adequate (only 55 euros per night). We had the half board option which was fine although the choice of eveninig meal was very limited (one option for starter and main course). We found that the set menu gave more choice (3 options rather than 1) and was only 1 euro more!!. However the hotel was very flexible and allowed us to "upgrade" and get the additional choice. It is worth saying that the hotel retaurant is very popular with locals providing a combination of indoor and al fresco in a very pretty setting.

The hotel is situated in a quiet lane and although our satnav found the hotel we drove past it the first time. There is no parking facility to speak of at the hotel but there is a public car park yards away in the market square and is free!! However you have to watch out for the market days and avoid parking there on those nights unless you want to get up early to move it. We are not too sure what happens if it is left there and we didnt really want to find out. There is another public car park (free again) opposite the market square which you could use instead. These parking spaces are popular and the french drivers are not that concerned about scratches and bumps. Our hired car got scatched the first night we left it in the square so beware!!.
Aups is a lovely little town with quaint streets and interesting shops and restaurants. We only had lunch away from the hotel but it was of a good quality and price.
The market on the Saturday was worth seeing with a variety of stalls and a great atmosphere.
Overall an interesting place to stay for a couple of days or more if you are using as a base for exploring the nearby gorge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandKEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

This is a lovely town, full of character. I stayed at an excellent and reasonable hotel, Auberge de la Tour, for one night and wished I'd stayed longer, as it is a great base for touring the area around the Gorges du Verdon and it's within easy driving distance of Lac Sainte Croix. There are lots of restaurants and cafes spilling out on to the streets and at night it's very lively. It doesn't feel too touristy, unlike Moustiers Sainte Marie, a town nearby which I wouldn't recommend. A great place to stay.

2  Thank spacehopper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjblaciotat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paty64140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank GrenobleSylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Juvs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aups hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aups
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alegria in Aups
Alegria in Aups
#1 of 6 in Aups
74 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Marc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Camping Saint Lazare
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Tour

Address: Rue JP Aloisi, 83630 Aups, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Aups
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aups
Price Range: $59 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge de la Tour avec ses 16 chambres, ses deux salles de restaurant et sa terrasse ombragee est une des plus anciennes batisses d'Aups, elle date du XVIeme siecle. Situee au coeur d'un village anime et authentique, repute pour ses truffes, son huile d'olive, son miel et entouree de nombreux domaines viticoles, elle beneficie d'un emplacement privilegie pour profiter du marche provencale tous les mercredi et samedi et de sa douceur de vivre. Aups se situe aux portes des Gorges du Verdon et du lac de Ste Croix (20 min environ) et fait partie du Parc Naturel Regional du Verdon. Le Golf de St Tropez et la cote varoise ne sont qu'a une heure trente en voiture. Cyril Martinez et son equipe vous reserveront un accueil chaleureux afin que votre passage soit un moment de detente et de bien-etre loin de l'agitation urbaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de la Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Tour Aups, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing