We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ARGI-EDER

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ARGI-EDER
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Certificate of Excellence
Arricau-Bordes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location and exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a special place in a great location. All the staff were exceptionally charming and made us feel most welcome and comfortable. The dinner was utterly delicious and memorable and a great breakfast as well! Worth a visit in this stunning area of France!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    63
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
198
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second visit and we were just as impressed. Again just one night but the staff remembered us from last year. The location is within easy walking of Ainhoa which is a charming Basque village very close to the Spanish border. The hotel is in it's own extensive grounds with mature shrubs and trees. It has an outdoor swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms are large and comfortable, most with balconies with views over the surrounding countryside. The dinner was in the "gastronomic " category and the service was friendly, charming and very professional. There is plenty of parking, a lounge and free WiFi in all rooms. I cannot fault this hotel and we will have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We Stayed for three nights. The hotel is in a beautiful country location. The room was very comfortable, and the swimming pool excellent for a hotel of this size. We were a little disappointed with the restaurant for dinner. I did not think the food was up to the standard of other restaurants in the Basque Country

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dover, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed the warm welcome of this family-run hotel. Our room was on the opposite side of the swimming pool, very quiet with a pleasant patio. The surroundings and yard were very well-kept and inviting.
However, the best was still to come: The food deserved a Michelin star and the service was extremely pleasant yet professional. we ate there the 2 nights spent at this lovely hotel and wished we had stay longer just to pursue the culinary experience.
An added plus is the ease of parking yet the proximity to the village of Ainhoa.
Don't hesitate, you will be happy to have stayed in this charming hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VermontNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a touring holiday in France that we booked through Brittany Ferries. This was our first hotel on route and what a little gem it was. It was in a lovely peaceful location (apart from the peacock in a neighbouring garden, but we got used to him). The room was of a good size at the front of the hotel with a small balcony. The restaurant was superb, although it was a bit limited on choice, but that was just my personal taste, but each meal we had was excellent. It has a lovely lounge and is really welcoming and a homely hotel to come back to each day. The pool and the area around the pool is first class. I have to say however that the big plus at this hotel is the wonderful friendly staff. Each one could not have been more helpful or pleasant and they certainly made our stay at this hotel extremely enjoyable. We stayed at 4 other hotels but the staff at the Argi Eder were by far the best. It is perfectly placed for walking in the Pyrenees which was why we stopped here. Ainhoa itself is probably one of the prettiest little villages we have visited, and by about 9.30 p.m. each night it is totally deserted - absolute bliss. I cannot say any thing negative about this hotel, which is quite a rareity for me as I can usually find fault with anything, so this is high praise indeed, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Argi Eder for 17nights in July of 2012 during a month long stay in The Basque Country. Before we arrived we did wonder if we were doing the right thing by staying so long in one hotel. Fortunately we were proved wrong as our whole experience was wonderful. Our bedroom was very spacious with a small lounge area, a lovely balcony and spotlessly clean throughout our stay.The pool area was very pleasant with outstanding scenery and very quiet. We were staying on a half board basis and had a beautiful dinner every night with plenty of choice. Breakfast was equally delicious. The service was spectacular, from the family Dottax down to the young but extremely professional waiting staff. Our every wish was catered for. At the end of the 17days we felt like part of the family but the standard of service was maintained at all times. The lovely village of Ainhoa was a short walk away and perfect for an after dinner stroll. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would feel priviledged to be able to return there one day.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the pool and garden but equally lovely rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only stayed one night on our way home from a longer holiday. We chose the hotel just because of it's location so it was a wonderful surprise how good it was! The location was excellent in the Basque region, the room was very clean and comfortable and the dinner was excellent. We received an excellent welcome and the service at dinner was first class. Breakfast was a very good standard and in the summer could be taken on the terrace. There is a swimming pool, free WiFi and car parking. We cannot find anything to fault about this hotel and we will return again to explore the region at leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainhoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ithurria
Hotel Ithurria
#2 of 4 in Ainhoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 29 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Oppoca Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Les Almadies
Hotel Les Almadies
#1 of 29 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ur Hegian
Hotel Ur Hegian
#3 of 4 in Ainhoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
8.7 mi away
Laminak Hotel
Laminak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARGI-EDER? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARGI-EDER

Property: ARGI-EDER
Address: Route de la Chapelle | Quartier Boxate, 64250 Ainhoa, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ainhoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARGI-EDER 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run 4 stars hotel is located in a peaceful and quiet place at only 300 m of the Ainhoa center (one of the most beautiful villages in France). Traditional cooking in a modern way by Philippe Dottax, the young Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARGI-EDER reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing