We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hellstree, enough said!!!!”
Review of Elstree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elstree Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hellstree, enough said!!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Used cotton bud stuck on headboard, broken bed, complete with stains, insect trap at side of bed, bathroom well won,t be using that. Window broken won,t close busy main road argh I give up. You have been warned.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    38
    19
    82
See reviews for
18
31
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was attending a 2 day training course in Borehamwood and chose the Elstree Inn as it was close and cheap (£45 per night).

The guy on reception was very helpful, chatty and friendly, got me checked in swiftly and showed me directly to my room (something which rarely happens these days, so bonus points for that).
The room itself was larger than I as expecting, a onerous size especially considering the price.
Bed was very comfortable, an excellent night's sleep.
Bathroom was adequate, shower was pretty good.
Plenty of good quality clean towels provided daily.

The window was frosted glass, because it looked right out onto another building's wall (literally 1 foot away), so no views but adequate natural daylight with the added bonus of being nice and dark at night!

No food served, but there is a veritable plethora of foot outlets of all kinds within 5 minutes walk (the hotel itself is next to / above a Weatherspoons, with a Chinese restaurant next door, and many other venues close by). Plus there was the added bonus of a kitchen with some facilities for guests - didn't use it but nice to know it's there.

Main downside is that the entrance to the hotel is not actually on the road or address they provide, it's actually down the side-road a little bit to the right of it. Easy enough to find when you know, but something to watch for.

Other than that, a pleasant little hotel, very friendly receptionist, big comfy rooms and excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Arrived here and checked in. The receptionist wasnt very friendly and didnt crack a smile once while we were there! Wasnt made to feel very welcome. Room was ok, not brilliant. Stains on the carpet. Cleaner came at 9am, on the 2nd day, when we werent even ready to leave and insisted we had to be out for 9.30 even though check out wasnt until 10!

Wont be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkchick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borehamwood hotels

Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

After reading some other reviews I was slightly worried about staying here but needn't have been-it was clean, basic but comfortable and I was given a very warm welcome. Basic but good value, and I'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A group of three of us stayed at the Elstress Inn in a triple room as were watching a recording at the Elstree stuiods back in 2010.

It was the cheapest place locally, and afterall we were only staying one night.

I remember being suitably unimpressed, and the bedding was dirty, we all decided to wear clothes/extra sleeping bag to bed. The bathroom was grotty and it certainly needed a spring clean.

We then booked to see another show in Jan 2011, so decide dto go back to the Elstree Inn, despite being disappointed the previous time.

It was for one night, I'd never stay longer. It's merely a place to put your head down. You pay £50 for a triple room, so what can you expect?

You pay cheap, you get cheap....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I paid £45 for a twin room at the Elstree Inn. That appeared quite good value considering we're close to London. However, half a mile up the road there's a Premier Inn (£69 quoted) and an Ibis Hotel, and those hotels are in a different league completely. Several good point attracted me to the Elstree Inn - it's located above a Wetherspoon Pub, which is handy. There's free car parking at the rear which was another good feature. It's located directly on Shenley Road which is basically Borehamwood High Street and it's literally a stone's throw from Elstree Studios and the huge Tesco store adjacent to it. The not-so-good features are really restricted to the room itself. They are old-fashioned and in need of redecoration somewhat (see my photos). The room was fairly clean, although my 'swipe of the top of the wardrobe test' revealed more than a few days worth of dust. The bathroom was a bit shabby, but the shower worked and there was as much hot water as we needed. The lampshade was at a jaunty angle on arrival and the bathroom ceiling was black with mould. The bed was clean and reasonably comfortable. Complimentary tea and coffee was provided in the room. I wouldn't stay here again - I'd pay a bit extra and stay at Premier Inn or Ibis. Borehamwood itself only appeared to have 3 pubs and Saturday night in Borehamwood isn't what I'd call lively at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I acquired tickets to be in the audience for the Mothers Day Special of Celebrity Who Wants to be a Millionaire to be filmed at Elstree Studios so decided to take my mom along for a weekend treat.

We were looking for an affordable hotel that was close to the studios and found Elstree Hotel.

We paid £40 for the room which was on a room only basis.

Upon entrance to the hotel i found that the car park was small, probably parking for 7 or 8 cars which would not be any good if hotel was full to capacity. However, we were lucky and found a parking space.

The door into reception can only really be opened if you have a key. As we hadnt checked in, we had to wait for the door to be opened.

The girl on reception was friendly enough and dealt with our check in professionally. The reception area contained leaflets of what was in the area and was clean and tidy.

As we were shown up to our room, we were shown a kitchen area which is for use by guests which contained a microwave and also was nice to see that there was a bowl of fruit on the side for guests. Although we didnt use this facility, the area looked clean.

As we were shown up to our room, i noticed that the carpets were a little dirty but they were vacuumed and the overall decor in corridors seemed clean. There were quite a few fire doors to go through to get to our room which is not a problem, obviously its a requirement.

Upon entry of our room, we were advised that there was tea making facilities, clean towels and we were initially pleased with the room. We were advised that check out is normally 10am but as it was sunday check out we could check out a little later. We were also advised that the door did not automatically lock and we would have to make sure we locked it when we left the hotel.

We were also advised that the bathroom light sometimes took up to 15 mins to come on which is not really good if you need the toilet in the middle of the night so we chose to leave it on all the time. However, i think the lady meant that if the room hadnt been used for a while it would take that long cos we did accidentally turn it off in the morning and it come straight back on.

The main part of the room was very clean and tidy. The beds were really comfortable and well made. The bathroom, that was a different matter altogether. There was a considerable amount of mildew/mould in the shower cubicle and the general decor of the bathroom was poor. My mom suffers from asthma and mould/mildew can trigger this off. There was a fan in the bathroom which is suppose to elimate the build up of mould but that was all dusted up so obviously wasnt working as efficient as it should do.

During the night, the central heating was quite unbearable. It was really hot in the room but i suppose i would complain if it was too cold!!!!

The pub underneath the hotel was nice and friendly and we never heard any noise from the pub although it wasnt that busy at 11pm. We also never heard any noise from the traffic but we were lucky enough to be on the back or the side.

The windows were made of aluminium and there was marks on the outside but i couldnt work out if this was dirt or a build up of mould as the windows were frosted.

Check out was easy as you just locked your room up and posted your keys in the postbox.

As the hotel was above a Weatherspoons pub, you can connect to the WIFI for free if you are a member of THE CLOUD!

Overall, for what we paid for the room and the location you cannot moan. We wouldnt hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borehamwood
0.3 mi away
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Borehamwood
Travelodge Borehamwood
#3 of 6 in Borehamwood
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#5 of 6 in Borehamwood
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way
3.0 mi away
Ramada South Mimms M25
Ramada South Mimms M25
#2 of 2 in South Mimms
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstree Inn

Property: Elstree Inn
Address: 148-150 Shenley Road, Borehamwood WD6 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elstree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elstree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing