We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was excellent but breakfast was.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada London North M1
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Room was excellent but breakfast was.....”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was very spacious and clean. Also, the hotel offers free car park and free Wi-Fi.
The problem was breakfast. It was totally chaos. The restaurant was very small compared to the number of rooms in the hotel. Because of it, number of seats and table in the restaurant was not enough. There was a long queue at the front of the restaurant to be served, a long queue at the front of hot breakfast, a long queue at the front of toasters, and no hot water/coffee/orange juice. Many customers were walking around to find an available seat for a long time, and sadly they had to share a table with other unknown guests (me too!). Because of it, I did not feel comfortable to stay there and enjoy the breakfast.
The staff in the restaurant were not smiling at all, very unhelpful, and very slow to clear tables.
Next time if I stay there, I will book a room-only rate with no breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Ramada London North M1, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your positive comments, they are much appreciated.
In regards to your breakfast comments please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not a satisfactory one. Unfortunately we have had several large groups staying with us throughout the month of October which has caused us a few issues with our seating arrangements for our buffet breakfast in the mornings. We are currently working on a solution so that our independent travellers are not inconvenienced during these busy periods. This is including increasing our staffing levels to ensure tables are being cleaned more efficiently and easing the stress levels of the staff to ensure that the level of customer service that we pride ourselves in is not being compromised.
I do hope that you will stay with us once again so that you may witness the improvements we have made in the areas of the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    271
    132
    53
    41
See reviews for
174
192
62
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

this is a motorway service station hotel, very clean room with tea & coffee, a TV, hairdryer & well equiped bathroom , the soap is in a dispenser on the wall no other toiletries, it has a bar and restuarant the food was good, well cooked, we all enjoyed our food & the kids eat free when a parent has a meal - so reasonable
the services are a walk through the car part but the hotel has a vening machine for soft drinks
great for the one nights stay, the breakfast was fine with cereal, full English, toast or continental plenty of choice no complaints from any of our party

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor but the others were on higher floors - there is lifts & stairs this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When planning a lond day inLondon we decided to stay here as it was on the way and fairly ecconomical. We travelled with one child (9yrs old) and 2 adults - we did not use the breakfast facility so no review of that.

Our room was cean with a bed big enough for 4, plus two pull out singles. Lots of fluffy towels and a great shower. The black out curtains worked so well was a bit surprised at how late I woke up.

This is an OK place to break up a long road trip and I would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times this year and will probably return again. On each occasion our room has been large and clean - nothing fancy, but quite adequate, considering the price. We shopped around on the Internet and managed to get a very reasonable deal which included breakfast each time.

We did hear a lot of trains, but they didn't disturb our sleep. On our most recent visit, our room was on the first floor directly above the bins, and there was a bit of banging fairly early on the Sunday morning, which wasn't appreciated. However, considering the number of coachloads of young people we saw arriving, we were surprised how little noise we heard from other guests during any of our stays.

Coming down by car from the North, this hotel is easy to get to and enables us to make a quick getaway when going home. It's not easy to access public transport, but we found that it was a quick drive to Finchley Central tube station, which has a sizeable car park costing £1 for all day on a Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is fine othee than you could spend most of your trip looking for it! The poscode given ...if approaching from London/South will take you miles out of your way ...hasving you join the M1 at junction 4/5 when the direct route is join at J 1............Im very good with directions and felt I spent more time trying to find the hotel than I did staying there!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed throughout July 2012 whilst on Business in London, the Location of The Gateway is Perfect. Access in and out of London from the North could not be better. The Rooms are Good but not Great. I was first put in Room 130 on the Ground Floor, this room is rated as Disabled and had recently (compared to 127/129/131 been refurbished). The Decor is simple but clean and functionary. The first thing you will notice on entering your room is that the Gateway is positioned between the M1 and the Main Railway Line into London. The noise can be a real problem, I got used to it but I stayed for over 5 weeks, a one night stay may prove more difficult.

There is a Restaurant and Bar onsite which is unusual for a Days Inn, the prices are quite expensive but not too bad for London, £4.50 per Pint and £15 for a Steak.

As I stayed during the Olympics prices had been put up and I believe although my company paid it was about £80 per Night, this is par for the course in London and the Gateway was certainly far superior to the £69 Travel Lodge just down the road in Mill Hill.

Beware some rooms on the Upper Floor are still Smoking Rooms which I thought was illegal. These rooms smell very badly of Cigarette Smoke and would not suit a Non-Smoker.

Room Tip: Room 130 is more modern than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have spent god knows how many nights at this hotel, staff are all friendly, food is average and rooms clean and comfortable.
Make sure you search the internet sites for a good price mind! I wouldnt pay the prices they advertise!!
It is not close to a railway station, underground or any other restaurant (not unless you like burger king motorway service station grub) but the staff are happy for you to order in take away foods and will even provide menus! The nearest station is a short ish taxi ride away. Nothing major. Good location for any trips to Wembley.

Room Tip: They advertise better rooms as "Executive rooms... But the only difference is a flat screen tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearljammandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borehamwood
2.1 mi away
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Borehamwood
Travelodge Borehamwood
#3 of 6 in Borehamwood
349 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada South Mimms M25
Ramada South Mimms M25
#2 of 2 in South Mimms
370 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada London North M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London North M1

Property: Ramada London North M1
Address: M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada London North M1 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada London North offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and excellent access to the M1 motorway. Central London is 9 miles away. All of the spacious, air conditioned rooms have comfortable beds and satellite TV. Edgware Tube Station is 3 miles away. Dine at the onsite Indigo Restaurant or relax in the bar, with a plasma-screen TV showing sports. Children under the age of 12 years stay and eat free. Discounted breakfast and dinner rates are available if booked at the time of online reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada London North M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing