We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awkward family room setting, noisy room, air con leaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada London North M1
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awkward family room setting, noisy room, air con leaking!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights from Sunday 19th to Monday 20th August. Arrived around 11pm as had gone into London for the day. Nice room with king sized bed and two single roll out beds for the kids...the only problem was that one of the single beds was wedged against a bedside shelf...so a child would bang their head on this...very awkward!!?? The air con unit was leaking so the carpet was wet near the door, no handwash in dispenser for sink...when we called reception for it it took them nearly 20 mins to bring it...and they gave us the handsoap rather than putting in the dispenser!!! When we asked how does it go in the unit...were told they did not know and housekeeping would do it the next day. With regards to the air con leak...they did offer another room but as we were travelling with young children we did not want to uproot at that time so managed with a towel on the wet patches!! With regards to the bedside shelf...we were told all the family bedrooms are the same set up, we told them that one of the children would have to sleep with us now as we were not willing to risk putting them against the wooden shelf. We were told that the manager was not around at that time and would be spoken to the next morning. When we spoke to the manager the next morning we were told they could not do anything about it!! Also was very silly to place us in a room on the railway side as we had 4 and 5 year old children...very noise late at night and again in morning...need more soundproofing!!

All in all not very comfortable as my 5 year old daughter felt left out and did not sleep in the other roll out single bed either...so all 4 of us in the king size bed, leaking air con, no handwash, noisy railway...and when the housekeeping did come the next day they did not put the soap in the handwash dispenser...one power point in a family room!! Can't comment on the food as did not eat or have breakfast as a bit steep at £11.95!!

Room Tip: Stay away from railway side for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayC211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Sales Manager at Ramada London North M1, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments, firstly I would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you and your family experienced here with us at Days Hotel London North.
It is with comments like yours that we can improve the stay of all our guests.
After reviewing how our family rooms were set up we have now restructured and reorganised the layout of our family rooms to ensure the future comfort of all our guests and guarantee a comfortable nights sleep.
I have also spoken with the housekeeping team regarding the soap dispensers and ensuring that they are filled at all times. I am in the process of retraining the reception team to be competent in replacing the empty units in their absence.
Thank you for bringing the leak in the air conditioning unit to our attention, this was immediately resolved and we have since implemented a new procedure with the Housekeeping department on recording maintenance issues on a daily basis.
Unfortunately, as we are based on a Motorway Service area we often find that our guests prefer to sleep on the railway side however all guests are welcome to request motorway side room.
Please know that your feedback is extremely helpful to us and assists us in improving the standard and service that we strive to achieve and again, please accept my apologies for your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    266
    129
    52
    40
See reviews for
170
186
62
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is very basic but comfortable, staff are friendly and helpful, but a big but if you are not driving and decide to go via public transport be prepared to get lost. We got the tube to Edgware which is the nearest tube station and decided to save some money by getting a bus we were on a tight budget, I understand you can get a taxi for £5 (which we should have done). Anyway we asked a bus driver for buses to barnet way the main road where buses stop we were told to get the no 292, when the 292 came the driver said we needed the 107 we waited about 15 minutes and when that came the driver told us we needed the 292 which we had now missed so we waited another 15 minutes and another 292 came and the driver told us to get off at the Marsh lane stop, only it is not called the marsh lane stop but the Apex Corner so we passed that stop and the next and realised we had gone too far we got off in the middle of nowhere and had to walk back about 21/2 miles, by that time we were shattered and we had blisters. When we got onto Ellesmere avenue there was no sign at all of the hotel so we walked right up to the end of the street and no joy, we finally asked a resident and he informed us that we were not the first to get lost nor will we be the last unless they decide to put up signs along the way and on Ellesmere Avenue. A lot of people staying at the Days Hotel have asked him for directions. I must admit the turn is in a funny place. There is a side road at the junction of the The Fairway and Ellesmere Avenue there are no signs at all go under the bridge and you can just make out the building. So advice get a taxi and it will save you a lot of time and energy.

As for the Hotel good value we paid £50 each for 2 nights and they have an offer of £20 if you want to stay Saturday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we were booked at the days hotel south mims as this hotel was over £100 per night but they reduced the price for the two nights that we stayed
a fantastic clean and comfortable hotel usually very good value for money take a tip and book it last minute for the best deals

Room Tip: phone the hotel in advance and try and get a room near the lifts as it can be a very long walk down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topola42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Any hotel at a service station sends shivers down my spine, but this one was really nice and pleasant.
great staff, comfy beds, great location.
what more can I ask?
Hmmm well, the breakfast was a bit steep but tasty...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpete1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We used this as our base for our trip to the Olympics. The rooms are well equipped, modern and clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. Due to walking difficulty, I had requested on my on-line booking a short walk to room; amazingly staff had picked this up and offered two alternative rooms. Oddly there were only three pillos in the twin room but a request for an additional one was delivered immediately. Waitrose in the Service Area is only a short walk away. We didn't use the restaurant, £11.95 for buffet breakfast seemed a little high. Plenty of free parking and an excellent £5 each way taxi service to Edgware Tube station. 30mins to the West End. We paid £79 which was great value during the Olympics but the website shows £49 rooms are regularly available. They are also currently doing a deal if you stay Saturday night you can get Sunday for £20.
We will definitely use again for London trips.

Room Tip: There is all night train noise on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose this Hotel for our Anniversary/Olympic break and was extremely impressed. The Hotel was very modern, spotless, Good Resturant (kids eat free with each adult meal) and value for money. We were a £5 taxi ride from Edgeware Tube station and it cost us £20 for the three of us for an all day rail pass that took us everywhere. Would highly recommend this Hotel for couples and families who are after a fab base for their London city break.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd-Fogerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

we stayed at this hotel as we drove to london and didnt want t drive into the capital ,2 adults and 2 kids stayed here we left the car and a taxi to edgware tube was £5 would definatley stay here again if we are going into london .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borehamwood
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada South Mimms M25
Ramada South Mimms M25
#2 of 2 in South Mimms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#647 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada London North M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London North M1

Property: Ramada London North M1
Address: M1 Between Jct 2-4 | London Gateway Services, Borehamwood NW7 3HU, England (Formerly Days Hotel London North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada London North M1 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada London North offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and excellent access to the M1 motorway. Central London is 9 miles away. All of the spacious, air conditioned rooms have comfortable beds and satellite TV. Edgware Tube Station is 3 miles away. Dine at the onsite Indigo Restaurant or relax in the bar, with a plasma-screen TV showing sports. Children under the age of 12 years stay and eat free. Discounted breakfast and dinner rates are available if booked at the time of online reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada London North M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing