We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for what they do - but only because they're in a market of one!”
Review of Let's Meat - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Let's Meat
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Great little local restaurant - grill bar with restaurant area and busy takeaway - great quality and good prices too
Herts, England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“OK for what they do - but only because they're in a market of one!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have eaten here a few times since it first opened.

Let's start with the strengths. They're supervised Kosher, the only 'meat' restaurant in the area that is. The place is clean, bright and inviting. The food is fresh and tasty. Service (both eating in and take away) is OK, although they seem to specialise in getting at least one part of every 'eat-in' order wrong.

On the down side they are expensive for what they do. If someone cares about eating Kosher, they're going to be able to slam a steak under the grill at home for less than a quarter of the price.

On top of that they NEVER open on time so both I and many friends (who aren't so fussy about eating Kosher) have often ended up at another restaurant nearby - there's no shortage of them.

Blooms started out like that and eventually competition moved in, providing better service at lower prices. Guess what? Blooms no longer exists.

I wanted to give 3½ stars, but it won't allow halves and I don't feel able to give four stars to Let's Meat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crapmodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Go for value, not frills!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We enjoy visiting this restaurant from time-to-time - the food is tasty and hot, and takeaways are good too, but our only complaint is the fact they shut the grill at 9:30pm. Given their location, close to the station, and the fact they are the only kosher restaurant in the area, it is quite a shame. We would prefer to grab a takeaway or a quick bite if we've had a late day at work etc, but that isn't an option here. In fact, we have been sat eating at 9:35 and seen people walk in and their business turned away, which seems rather odd.

Would be nice if more of these restaurants offered wholemeal pitta as an option too. We do enjoy eating here though and will be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let's not meet”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The food is pretty good but the restaurant falls down on service. I've been there 3 or 4 times and am amazed at the rubbish service even when the owner is at the front counter. Today I visited and three of them stood there like guppies at feeding time. No welcome or anything just a blank stare. I've noticed that the owner does have a good rapport with some customers but to be honest it was an average experience. My recommendation is for them to improve the service and to add an extra schwarma for chicken, many people won't eat lamb and perhaps an oven to bake laffa and pitta bread. I fear that unless the bearded owner pulls his socks up he will like most restaurants fail miserbly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Let's Meat”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Lovely Kosher Food. Good value. You get what you pay for.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ellard45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pity about the ambiance”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I am very impressed with the food but less so with the ambiance. The plastic chairs are uncomfortable, there is a distracting television set in the restaurant area (I have no objection to a television set in the take away waiting area) and the decor means that the noise from other tables bounces around the room - whereas in other restaurants it would be absorbed by soft furnishings. And it is VERY noisy when full of children on Sundays and school holidays.

On our visits, the service has been quite slow although the staff have been polite.

Some of the grilled meat was VERY burnt and too hard for my Mother to chew.

If there's a parking space nearby, I expect we'll go again but only midweek in term time. I simply don't understand why parents don't insist that their offspring have more consideration for other people in the restaurant. Perhaps they don't know any better themselves.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_JB_Ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Let's Meat also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing