We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shame about the service”
Review of Zinco - CLOSED

Zinco
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's a pity that there isn't just a 'good' rating as Zincos wavers between very good and downright average.

The food was very nice - although no separate children's menu so we ordered a starter sized portion of pasta for our daughter. The pizzas were large, hot and tasty.

The service - not good at all. We were asked for our drinks order when we were seated which was brought to us quickly - however had to ask several times for someone to come to take our food order. The waitress appeared to get confused when taking our order for some reason and took some repeating on our behalf - There were seven of us only ordering a main meal so not particularly taxing!

As there were two families in our party we asked if we could have two separate bills - the waitress said no and when we queried why the manager came over and huffily told us absolutely not. I'm not quite sure why this would have caused such difficulty....but there you go.

All in all it was a nice meal spoiled slightly by the standoffish service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    20
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We go to Zinco's at least once a week as it is our local Italian restaurant. Their food is consistently good and the service is always attentive, we sometimes have a take away delivered if we can't make it and this too has always been delivered hot and good can highly recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute disgrace”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the worst restaurant we have visited in the past two years
Considering we eat out 5 nights a week.I had the "Special" of fish and chips.the fish was such a all portion I enquired if it was a "children's portion".The manner in which the manager dealt with my complaint was one of sheer contempt.This restaurant should be avoided at all costs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kissin slain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but with no ambience and terrible customer service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family have been regular customers at Zinco over the years, enjoying a good selection of Italian food at a reasonable price. However the customer service here has deteriorated - the staff, including the management, are extremely apathetic and unhelpful. Considering that Zinco is very rarely full to capacity, you'd think they would be more grateful for the custom.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mkangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't been in the area for a while but remembered the great food we had before and decided to return....we weren't disappointed, food and staff were great and a very reasonable price. Will return when in the area again. Try the specials, always good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank silverfox026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinco also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing