We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in a superb location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanark, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jane A
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this delightful cottage. Wallace Cottage is perfectly situated for exploring Lanark and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The cottage is roomy and inviting with stylish décor with a lovely Scottish theme. The bathroom and kitchen are modern and we were greeted with a super welcome pack. The towels and bedding were of an excellent standard. Marie kept in touch with us throughout our stay and our booking was dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner. We will definitely be returning to Wallace Cottage and thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior furnishings - it was modern and cosy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and we hope to Welcome you again in the future.
Thanks Again
Maria Cookson: 07798875366
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a delightful stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From our booking to our stay all went extremely smoothly and we thoroughly enjoyed this charming cottage. It was beautifully furnished, warm, cosy and quiet yet in a convenient position for Lanark shops. We spent a long time exploring the New Lanark Heritage Site and Wildlife reserve and were lucky to see the peregrine falcons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to right a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and for sharing your experience with our future guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayENGibs...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to point out that I have never before taken the time to write a review and have stayed in many places over the years so that alone means it was PERFECT. The warm welcome from Maria was greatly appreciated and it's the little things like that that I believe really make the difference between good and great. The cottage felt instantly homely and was lovely and clean. (It had a good feel about it as I would say!) The fire was a fantastic bonus as it made the place so cosy (so cosy in fact we ordered in food rather than head out!) and the hamper of goodies on arrival was a treat! The bathroom decor was to die for and has inspired me to copy and the fresh flowers dotted around the place were a beautiful finishing touch. The cottage was ideally situated and had everything within walking distance! Lastly.. The bed.. Oh wow.. The bed... THEE COMFIEST I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN (including my own!). Wouldn't mind knowing the brand of duvet, pillows and mattress actually as it was heavenly!

As you may be able to tell I would stay here again in a heartbeat! So.. Go book it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Wow, thank you so so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm delighted that you found our cottage to be 'Perfect in every way'.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invisible...
England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful place. Perfect location to base trips around area.”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very well appointed cottage close to lot's of local amenities and transport routes.
Ideal for Glasgow or Edinburgh with so much to see nearby you will have to keep coming back.
Which would not be a hardship.
All the basics for your first day here are provided.
The rooms are fantastic and exceptionally well furnished. Beds are comfortable and heating keeps the place warm.
We will definitely return here later in the year.
Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Many Thanks for writing a review for us. We are delighted that you thought our place was wonderful and the location perfect. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirbyjoin...
New England, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find - home from home just great”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in this cottage for one night whilst visiting family in Glasgow. The property is just down the road from the train station so really handy for getting in and out of Glasgow the trains run very regularly takes about 45min.
The cottage itself is lovely, décor beautiful and the beds the most comfortable we have ever had, we had a great nights sleep.
Very quiet location even though the cottage is within the town.
We would definitely return and recommend
thank you for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cottage and its location in Lanark. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jac B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful house. Beautiful location. Beautifully equipped. Magical break.

Would that we could have stayed forever:-)

Or at least another night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home from home
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay in our cottage and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the presentation of our cottage which is exactly what we wanted to achieve for you and future guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing