We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandra x”
Review of Inn on the Loch

Inn on the Loch
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sandra x”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We took my mum here for lunch had been a few years since I had last been and was pleasantly surprised . Decor was lovely various styles of seating from booths to round to long tables, we were seated by the window overlooking the Loch with a radiator behind me sooo cozy and fed up being out fir something to eat and sit freezing. We had the 3 course Sunday special and each course was delicious and very well presented. The staff were very pleasant and there if needed without hovering over us. Good portion sizes I had the lamb it was delicious and no fat!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    194
    62
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glagow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited here recently with a couple of friends. The place was really busy (8pm on a Friday night) but I can't fault our service at all. Greeted with a friendly welcome, shown straight to our table and quick service. The food was brilliant, obviously freshly homemade, with large helpings. Also very reasonably priced, cost us just under £70 for 3 people each having 2/3 courses. Hadn't been here in quite a while, but I'll hopefully be back soon! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been here often - never disappointed!!!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Can't praise this place enough. Service is great, location is great, menu is fab. Food is even better. Good atmosphere, ample portions and excellent value for money. Have eaten her on many occasions, the most recent being Sunday Lunch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skinnycowjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice for a coffee, light meal”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nice place to have basic scottish food. Nice view of the loch. Friendly service. Good sticky toffee pudding!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScotsNeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous setting”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Living fairly locally, I have visited on many occaisions, either upstairs for a 'proper meal' or downstairs for a casual lunch. The location of the restaurant and the ambience within, cannot be faulted at all. Sadly, in the upstairs restaurant, there is an inconsistancy both in food quality and in service. This can always be 'excused away' by 'it's the chef's night off' !! However I visited downstairs on 2 occaisions in the last 2 weeks, the first I could'nt have faulted in any way but returning a week later was like the 'flip-side' of the coin. We stood for easily 5mins before anyone appeared to serve us at the bar, we gave our order and such a fuss was made when we were asked for out table number. At that point we had'nt got a table, many were filled with plates waiting to be cleaned and there were only 2 other groups in the restaurant. The waitress, from the Southern Hemisphere was extremely surly and could easily have found us without her Satnav. Lunch was very promptly slammed on the table in front of us but no cutlery and she set-off to clear all the dirty tables. I knew that there was a station where cutlery and condiments were available but on this occaision it was empty so it was then neccessary to inform her. This involved a lot of muttering folowed by cutlery being produced.
Our lunch was lovely but it was marred by the atitude of the waitress who made it clear that we were just a nuisance and she really did'nt want to serve us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kizviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn on the Loch also viewed

Lanark, South Lanarkshire
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 
West Calder, West Lothian
 
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Inn on the Loch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing