We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of lots of potential!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full of lots of potential!”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We arrived around 1pm to check in before heading off to a nearby wedding. The driveway up to the hotel and the exterior are quite impressive, we found the staff at reception very helpful however we found our experience went downhill from there. Our room was tiny with a very outdated bathroom suite and although the linen on the bed was spotless the rest of the room was in desperate need of a good dust. The following morning at breakfast we went down to find lots of tables that hadn't been cleared away from previous breakfast customers. This hotel as lots of potential, unfortunately we found these things really let it down.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    67
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
72
81
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I see that this hotel has had some bad reviews, but I have stayed here twice now within the last year, whilst on business and everything has been fine. I got the same room both times so I can't comment on any others, but it was spacious, quiet and had a very comfortable bed. I haven't had dinner at the hotel, but on this occasion, having been out until 10pm at a business event, the barmaid went down to the kitchen and made myself and my colleague lovely sandwiches as we had a drink in the bar. All staff that I met were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a family wedding and as a wedding venue it can't really be faulted. Impressive grounds, lovely building and plenty of space: we were very fortunate with the weather and able to make full use of the grounds. Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and I was able to take a cooked breakfast on a tray upstairs for my partner who remained in bed!

Drink prices were high, £3.10 for a pint of Tennants is above market in my opinion and the wedding rate for the room, £98, is 30+% more than I paid at the Hilton for the previous night's stay.

The room was small but comfortable, however, the bathroom did have a very strong background odour.

For a special occasion it is worth the minor niggles but it may be worthwhile looking further afield if accommodation is your main priority.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 737av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANARKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

12th october



General Manager
Cartland Bridge Hotel
Lanark



Dear sir/madam

Disappointing lunch 11th october

On sunday i visited your hotel along with my wife and friends for lunch about 3.30pm.the car park was virtually empty which should have alerted us to the standard of meal we would receive. we proceeded to the bar area past an array of dishes with meals half-finished which had not been cleared.

For starters, we ordered a soup and haggis n neeps which were ok.i had the salmon and prawn cocktail which looked fine but had little sauce.when i asked for bread the young girl went away and came back to tell me that you don’t get bread with this dish (miserable). my friend’s wife had pate, which was presented, in a small white dish with a thick layer of yellow fat on top. it was pretty disgusting looking, but she ate a small portion rather than send it back.

For main courses, my friend asked for the lamb curry, only to be told a few minutes later that there was none left. he and i then had the braised steak and although there were some chewy bits, in general it was ok.my wife had the haggis and neeps, which was simply 2 starters, lumped on a bigger plate. later she said it was quite greasy but again didn’t like to complain. lastly, my friend’s wife had lasagne that looked like the ones i had seen earlier on the half-empty plates when we came in. it looked burnt, was dry and seemed as if it had been reheated a few times. she couldn’t eat it and we sent it back. by this time she was not interested in a replacement, as she had lost her appetite.
we understandably, decided against having a sweet and all had coffees. aagh! it tasted like hot milk with a sprinkling of chocolate. just to rub it in, when we received the bill the cost of the lasagne had not been deducted, although this was later rectified. as we left, i noticed the old lasagne still lying at the side of the bar. so much for a nice relaxing sunday lunch! to rub salt in it, my friend phoned today to say that his wife had been up during the night with sickness & diarrhoea.

We eat out a lot, but this is the first time i have ever written to complain about a meal. the cartland bridge is not the place for which i have fond memories, and hopefully you will take on board the points i have made. it would be easy to say simply ‘we won’t be back’, but some feedback may actually be of benefit to you.

I look forward to hearing your comments in due course





jim baillie

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JIMBAILLIE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Decent chain run country house hotel, in an old Scots Baronial style building. Room was well appointed and comfortable, but the bathroom was a little tired and dated. I had great service, particularly from Elspeth on reception. Breakfast was good, although there was limited choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My friend got married here yesterday and it is a lovely location for a wedding. The hotel and grounds are picturesque and the staff are very friendly and professional. We stayed in room 211 which had 3 lovely windows overlooking woodland. We spent very little time in our room as got to bed at 2am and breakfast was 8am-10 am so we basically just slept there and paid £98 for the privilege! Probably not value for money. Rooms are traditional (some would say old-fashioned but I found it quite charming) and bathroom was spacious and clean although would benefit from an upgrade (suite is an avocado colour).
Rooms have phone, alarm clock, TV, iron+ironing board, tea-making facilities and hairdrier.
The hotel was very hot and stuffy which made the wedding reception rather uncomfortable and the rooms were hot too despite the 3 windows being open.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing. You could help yourself to tea, coffee, juice and cereal. Waitresses brought toast and took orders for cooked breakfast. No menu was provided and choice was limited to 'grilled breakfast' which consisted of 1 rasher of bacon, 1 (tiny) sausage, scrambled egg, tomato, mushrooms, and quarter of a potato scone. Half of the wedding party were Spanish and they would've no doubt appreciated a menu as most of them had no idea what they were ordering/could order/ were eating!
The hotel seemed to be short-staffed at breakfast time and plates of cooked breakfast would lie at the side getting cold until a waitress was available to bring them to the table.
The hotel does provide free Wi-Fi which is a definite plus.
Overall, I thought the hotel made a fantastic wedding venue but as a hotel offering B+B the service could've been better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Where to begin!!

From day 1 of booking my wedding reception at the Cartland Bridge I could not have been more sure that I had made the right decision. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The run up to the big dau went very smoothly. The hotel assisted us on every little detail and nothing for them was a hassle!! (i was bridezilla) On the day we could not have faulted anything about the hotel. Everything ran so smoothly. Paul the Manager did a fabulous job of making sure everything went as planned. The meal and buffet were exactly as we had wanted. A lot of my family and friends stayed over at the hotel (we took over 19 out of the 21 rooms) and everyone had a lovely stay and really enjoyed the breakfast.

All of our guests have expressed how much then enjoyed the day and how fab the venue was. We will be back for our 1 Year anniversary next year!!

Thanks to all the staff!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
1.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.3 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
6.5 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel

Property: Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing