We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good solid place to stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I had a 3 night break here in mid November. First impression of the building - a lovely old house with plenty of charachter set in nice grounds. Lovely log fire in the hallway and lots of lovely period features. The bedroom was functional as I expected from this type of hotel. Heating system very good as the weather was really cold. We ate in the small bar the was basic with a special board each day. Food well cooked and all the waiting staff, although young, were very polite and professional. Alan Todd was very personable - a friendly guy. The reception staff also very friendly and approachable. If you are taking a walk in the ground please beware of the sudden drop at the top of one of the paths. It is signed but would not recommend children running in this area. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. The whole team will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular thank you for Alan's mention.Robert Duncan. General Manager. Cartland Bridge. Perhaps Lanarkshire's best kept secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    67
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
72
81
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

When my partner and I arrived at the Cartland Bridge Hotel, we were (very) late, the receptionist done very she could to help us, even though we were late.

After checking in ( which was very quick and pleasant) we got taken to our room, the luggage was carried up to it as well.

We booked into a superior room which is a larger room, with a lot more space. The room was beautiful. better than the pictures.
We enjoyed an amazing evening meal (served 7pm-10pm) the food was delicious and the services was unbelievable.

After spending two a amazing nights here, we have decided that we shall be without a doubt booking ourselves in to stay here. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough.

10/10

Room Tip: all rooms in this hotel are amazing. As the hotel is away from any main roads and is surrounded by f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Linco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I and the team are so pleased that you enjoyed the Cartland experience. as they say in Bonnie Scotland Haste ye Back. Robert Duncan General Manager. Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is a grade A listed building, and full of charm if a little frayed at the edges. A lovely log fire in the hallway, and the staff at reception, in the bar and dining room could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a superior room which was spacious and very comfortable. The wifi worked at the first attempt.
The only downside was the breakfast. Fresh fruit? There slices of tired looking melon and strawberries, some of which were rotting. The full Scottish breakfast was better, but the bacon was cold and undercooked. Coffee had obviously been sitting brewing for a while. This is a great pity. The Cartland Bridge is a stunning building in a lovely setting, and it wouldn't take much to up their game in the dining room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Huge beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked your room and indeed were well looked after but sorry that we got it wrong with breakfast. Our breakfasts are individually cooked and our coffee is brewed 10 cups at a time so I am sorry that it was unsatisfactory. I shall investigate.
Thanks again. Robert Duncan . General Manager. Cartland Bridge - Where people matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very impressive Best Western and a good value for the money. We were lucky enough to stay here in September. This hotel is a hidden gem in that it is quite set back from the road, in the center of a lovely lawn and surrounded by a forest. Very comfortable room, delicious food (some of the best we had in our 2 weeks in Scotland!), and very friendly, helpful staff. We were pleased that the front desk gave us a printed sheet with brief overview of the history of this interesting building. if you are looking for accommodations in the Lanark/New Lanark area, we heartily recommend this hotel. We would have stayed longer if time permitted.

Room Tip: We loved our room in the back within one of the 'towers'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review.We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Cartland. Robert Duncan, General Manager. Cartland Bridge Large enough to cope - Small enough to care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely views from the bedroom windows. The manager and staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was delicious, especially the good Scottish porridge. There is a pretty conservatory for reading and relaxing. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and equipped with tea and shortbreads

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your very favourable review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed Cartland.
Robert Duncan .General Manager. Cartland Bridge - Where people matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely facility outside Glasgow. Plenty of beautiful outdoor space along with well kept and very clean traditional indoor facilities such as a restaurant and bar area. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Fabulous venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review following your recent stay here at Cartland.
Comments such as yours make it all worth while. Robert Duncan. General Manager. Cartland Bridge - Perhaps the best kept secret in Lanarkshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
1.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.3 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
6.5 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel

Property: Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing