We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lost count of our visits, our favourite place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lost count of our visits, our favourite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love this hotel. We left it late to book and only got a one night stay on Easter Sunday. Hotel fully booked but we hope to be back next time we travel up to see our grandchildren in Scotland.We love the rooms always comfy and this time very spacious. Also we are allowed to bring our dog and she feels at home too. Had a lovely dinner and breakfast was as good as ever.
Only down side for me is the plastic mattresses make me too hot, would prefer a thicker cover under the sheet.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view ask for a room overlooking the river Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    383
    75
    27
    10
See reviews for
375
824
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed overnight and the Hotel was lovely and staff very helpful and attentive. The location is ideal being so close to the Mills. We spent the day wandering around the exhibition and the Clyde and then went back to the Hotel to chill out. Our room had a spectacular view of the river and the noise of the water was very soothing - the room was basic but very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was a little frayed round the edges but clean too. We ate in the hotel and 3 out of the 4 main courses ordered were lovely; however my husband was not happy with his meal. The staff replaced it and took the cost off the bill which was kind. The only other issue was the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night due to a malfunction which was a pain but hopefully a one off. Breakfast was good if a little slow in service because the restaurant was so busy. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and one I would thoroughly recommend for anyone who is looking for peace and quiet but with something to do on the door step.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthmaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here after a trip around the Royal Yacht Britannia. The location was stunning quiet with outbuildings to visit. Lovely walk to the waterfall very scenic. Old Mill history was interesting. Excellent hotel, staff very accomodating room was light airy and very clean. Evening meal was supurb food was equal to that what we have eaten in any 5* hotel we have been. Bar area relaxing with very knowledgable staff around to advise. Full scottish breakfast brilliant served by very pleasant waitress. We really enjoyed staying at the Mill Hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed Saturday overnight with Dinner. Great Hotel with very good facilties and has a lot of attractions on it's door step. if you are looking for a overnight with some pampering and everything close to hand including some great walks, this is the place. I think that it may be a bit remote for more than 2 nights but a visit to the Mill is a great way to lose a couple of hours.
The Restuarant within a Hotel is very good and its quality and service is way above it's pricing.
The bar is a bit bare but the staff are on the ball.

Room Tip: Try the Restuarant and remember to book, ask for Clyde River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in the hotel following recommendation from our daughter.
Why this hotel has only a 3 star rating remains a mystery.
The hotel is lovely modern and clean. The rooms are a little basic but have everything you need and again very clean.
There are various attractions around the hotel that are worth a visit but for us the walk along the River Clyde which runs alongside the hotel was worth the visit itself.
The evening meal was without doubt the best I have had in any hotel I have visited as the presentation and quality was exceptional.
My only negative observation was the service for breakfast on Saturday morning was a little slow however this did not spoil our experience and the waiting staff were quick to apologise for the delay.
I will be back and I will be recommending the Lanark Mill Hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West;Mr.stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked a two night stay wish I had booked a three night stay .Staff very friendly and helpful,The Heritage site was very good and interesting.there are a few walks in the area around the river Clyde they even have a Peregrine Falcon watch on one of the walks.What can I say about the food "excellent".Well worth a visit.More than likely be back

Room Tip: I think all the rooms back on to the river Clyde with an excellent view we were on the 6th floor loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-T-M195260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've just returned from an overnight stay with my Grandsons 12 & 7 ..... The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the pool area was attractive although, the juccuzi was a bit on the cool side - the pool area has restricted use times for children - not before 10am in the morning or after 8pm. which might suit some guests but not others if they have older children.

The evening meals we had were tasty and attractively presented... the full Scottish breakfast was lovely with a good selection on the buffet table..
Overall the interior of the hotel was clean and practical, but I felt it looks dated, (not contemporary) lacks charm. cosiness or attractiveness..... the hallways reminded me of hospital corridors.. For the purpose of an overnight stay to see the area with the boys it was fine - but had I been there for a special occassion or romantic weekend I would have been a bit disappointed. It served the purpose at a fair price, but wouldnt personally rush back.

Room Tip: Our room was no 33 on 6th floor, windows had nice outlook... we had 3 single beds and the basics we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Property: New Lanark Mill Hotel
Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing