We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedlygood!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vigna

La Vigna
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Unexpectedlygood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were guests and didn't know our surrounding so we were very pleasantly surprised to find such a sophisticated restaurant with such pleasant staff. The drinks at the counter before being taken to your table, served with beautiful canapes and nibbles was a wonderful start. The menu is extensive and they are happy for you to create you own dish by perhaps cross matching things and flavours you like. The plates arrive very hot (perhaps too hot as my venison was still cooking and I like it med/rare!) and the presentation was very professionally done. The food was delicious but not pretencious. Finally beware; they have some very different digestif's! Enjoy! We'll be back I hope.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    26
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ESPERANCE WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Returned to this restaurant after five years and food and service still first class. Food is 'to die for'. Ideally situated in historic Lanark and great way to cap off a visit after strolling around the town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbscullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town but, expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've always had great food and service here. Its nicely decorated, but formal with very well turned out waiters. But its pricey and last time my husband and I went we were on our own all night. The menu is great though with a more varied selection than Pregos a cross the street. I think this is a great place if you want to splash out on a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jos1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a league of its own!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

La Vigna is not just a meal, its an experience.

From your first steps into La Vigna you know your in for a special meal.

Upon arrival you are greeted with friendly/professional staff who start your evening off with a smile and a drink. This personal time at the bar allows you to relax and take in your surroundings. The bellinni's are great start to the evening.

The staff in La Vigna allow you the time to sit back and have a good look through the menu and take the time to explain any dishes which your not 100% sure about.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the wine was fantastic. The atomsphere was great in the dining area and the volume of people shows the restaurants popularity.

This meal has been by far one of the best we have had in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited Restaurant on Saturday, table of 6, all our food was excellent, wine was good, service first class. Particular mention of the Dover Sole and Lemon Tart - yummy! Cheese board was particularly well presented. If in the area again would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vigna also viewed

Lanark, South Lanarkshire
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to La Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing